LibGuides: Zero Cost Course Resources Initiative Guide (Open Educational Resources (OER) / BU Library eResources): BU Library eResources

BU Library eResources

The following selected databases provide access to eBooks and eChapters
whose links can be embedded in Moodle:

LibSearch (Advanced Search) (Online Resources)
This tool provides access to books, videos, articles, etc. held at libraries in the Bethel University Library, including eBooks and Open Access titles.
After a search has been placed, click on the "Available Online" option under "Show Only" in the left column, and on "Reference Entries" under "Resource Type".

Bloomsbury/T&T Clark Biblical Studies Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
The 2016-present Biblical Studies collections consists of more than 400 titles from Bloomsbury's prestigious T&T Clark imprint. The titles include the latest volumes in the long-running series The Library of Hebrew/Old Testament Studies, The Library of New Testament Studies, and T&T Clark International Theological Commentary.
Business Expert Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Business Expert Press's Digital Libraries are filled with practical, concise books covering specific areas of business, including supply and operations management, international business, social media, finance, accounting, public relations, and marketing strategy.
Ebook Central Academic Complete This link opens in a new window
A large collection (140,000+) of academic books representing most subjects.
Not all titles have perpetual access. Check with your Library Liaison to verify an eBook's status.
Ebooks Minnesota This link opens in a new window
An online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages, and features content from our state's independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.
Ebooks Minnesota is a joint project of Minitex and the Minnesota Department of Education, State Library Services. The collection was made possible in part by funding from the Minnesota Department of Education through a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Search and view the full text of eBooks.

Open Access Books on JSTOR
Provides access to more than 2,500 Open Access ebooks at no cost to libraries or users. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content. Users won’t need to register or log in, and there are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing. The eBooks are also preserved in Portico, ensuring that they will be available to researchers in perpetuity.
Project MUSE eBooks
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Book collections on Project MUSE offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

*** eBooks with Perpetual Access

While eBooks from the Library's collections can make great course resources, not every eBook has perpetual access with unlimited users (will be available indefinitely and can be viewed by multiple people at the same time).

Therefore, please contact your Library Liaison to find out if the eBook you would like to use in your course meets this criteria.

Examples of eBooks:

The following databases provide access to eEncyclopedias and Dictionaries
whose links can be embedded in Moodle:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains numerous reference titles--encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc.--in many subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
The Gale Virtual Reference Library accesses a wealth of reference titles dealing with education, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains almost 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Includes 28 eReference books covering Political Science, Congress, the Presidency, U.S. Political History as well as the Encyclopedia of Communication Theory.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the well-known & respected encyclopedia.

MNopedia
Seeks to share current, reliable and relevant information about significant people, places, events and things in Minnesota history.
LibSearch (Advanced Search) (Online Resources)
This tool provides access to books, videos, articles, etc. held at libraries in the Bethel University Library, including eBooks and Open Access titles.
After a search has been placed, click on the "Available Online" option under "Show Only" in the left column, and on "Reference Entries" under "Resource Type".
Open Access Digital Theological Library
A virtual library for theology, religious studies, and related disciplines

Examples of eEncyclopedias / eDictionaries and Entries in eEncyclopedias / eDictionaries:

The following are examples of databases that provide access to articles
whose links can be embedded in Moodle:

EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO MegaFILE covers a wide range of academic disciplines, with some information dating back to the 1800s. The MegaFILE indexes articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, as well as some books and primary source documents. It also provides full text for nearly 12,000 publications and contains more than 84,000 biographies; 86,000 primary source documents; 10,000 company profiles; and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps, and flags.
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier aims specifically at business schools and libraries, containing 2,966 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
ERIC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Published by the Dept of Education, this database indexes articles (EJ#), books, theses, and documents (ED#) on all topics related to education. Start here first for all your education related research. For tips on how to search ERIC more effectively, consult this guide.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Published by the APA.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is one of the largest collections (2 million articles and 40 million abstracts) of science, technology, and medical information. It also includes titles in business and leadership.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Includes records for articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations and conference proceedings.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides global, regional and local news, including the Pioneer Press and many other Minnesota news sources, as well as a variety of national and international news outlets, broadcast news transcripts and video. Includes full image page views for about 200 newspapers and full text for several thousand others.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Examples of articles:

The following databases provide access to documentaries, instructional videos, feature films, etc.
whose links can be embedded in Moodle:

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides ~ 68,000+ streaming videos spanning most subject areas and many genres, including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Master Academic collection offers 12,500 full-length, curriculum-focused, streaming videos grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; and Health & Medicine. Unlimited access and use from any location.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. **Formerly known as Lynda.com.
If you learned a lot from Lynda, LinkedIn Learning offers a new look and also still offers the same expert-led, quality instructional videos. For additional background and help, see: https://confluence.bethel.edu/display/TLT/LinkedIn+Learning
Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable.

Kanopy Changes: Due to rising costs, we need to prioritize curricular over recreational use of this collection. If you find that a video you want is not immediately accessible, please fill out the form provided to express your interest. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to gather additional information.
You can easily share films, create clips or teaching playlists, and embed them into the course system. Most films have closed captions and transcripts.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A streaming video collection providing access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction.

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Interactive collection of tests, tutorials, and eBooks categorized in Learning Centers, including job preparation and computer skills.

Under Adult Core Skills:
- Build Your Math Skills
- Become a Better Reader
- Improve Your Writing, Speaking, and Grammar
Under Computer Skills Center:
- Popular Software Tools
- Learn Computer Graphics and Illustration
- Understanding your Operating System
- etc.

Zero Cost Course Resources Initiative Guide (Open Educational Resources (OER) / BU Library eResources)

BU Library eResources

*** eBooks with Perpetual Access

Access the Entire List of Databases Available via the Bethel University Library

Search for Specific Journal Titles

Help with Conducting Effective Searches