Zero Cost Course Resources Initiative Guide (Open Educational Resources (OER) / BU Library eResources)

New books and classic out-of-print titles openly accessible to teachers, students, scholars, and interested readers around the world

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.

Contains a diverse collection of titles spanning a myriad of genres. Readers will find: the classics they know and love, from Austen to Twain, updated for EPUB 3.0 format with beautiful covers; the best Creative-Commons licensed works from innovative authors like Cory Doctorow; freely available textbooks and academic titles representing the push for open scholarship; and an exciting multicultural children’s collection.

This toolkit aims to help book authors to better understand open access book publishing and to increase trust in open access books. You will be able to find relevant articles on open access book publishing following the research lifecycle, by browsing frequently asked questions or by searching with keywords.

Open access to 1,527,560 e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web.

A web-enabled, linked, classified, and categorized collection of Open Access Databases which one can access from a single portal. Although initial focus is on science and technology subjects, the ultimate aim is to include all subject areas.

Modeled after the Public Library of Science this is a platform for open access humanities scholarship.

PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. It contains seven online peer-reviewed scientific and medical journals.

After this browser extension is downloaded, click the green tab and skip the paywall on millions of peer-reviewed journal articles. It's fast, free, and legal.

A wiki where the open access (OA) community can create and support simple factual lists about open access to science and scholarship. Does not duplicate databases such as the Directory of Open Access Journals.

Part of the Open Access Directory.
Examples of subject areas: Anthropology, Biology/Life Sciences, Computer Science, Earth Science, Economics, Education, Engineering, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics, Social Sciences