Business & Leadership Research Guide (CAPS & GS)

Provides information on registered apprenticeship training programs for Minnesota's workplaces

Provides data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more. These articles are helpful for students, career counselors, job-seekers, and others planning careers.

Information on how to comply with federal employment laws regarding wages, health benefits, retirement security, employment rights, safety, and health

Provides access to statistics about employment, hours, and earnings; labor force; job openings and labor turnover; state and county employment and wages; business employment dynamics; employment projections, etc.

Features job postings from some of the best diversity employers across a wide variety of industries such as manufacturing, education, non-profit, finance, healthcare, technology, and marketing from customer service jobs all the way up to high level executive positions.

The mission of the EBRI is to contribute to, to encourage, and to enhance the development of sound employee benefit programs and sound public policy through objective research and education

Covers topics such as the hiring process; non-competition agreements; wage and hour issues; employee benefit plans; workplace issues; workers' compensation; safety, health and environmental issues; terminations; and unemployment compensation/insurance

Information on job search, job outlook, WorkForce Centers, veterans employment, people with disabilities, etc.

Latest available pension and benefit information for U.S. employers. Allows one to locate, view and download facsimiles of employers’ most recent form 5500, as filed with the United States Department of Labor. Also displays the previous year's 5500 filing for a total of 2 years. Free registration required for full access.

Provides information on the types of insurance needed by businesses, tips for buying insurance, and on workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance

Brings together information from the Department of Labor, O*NET Online, and your business to create individualized job descriptions

A free site, although registration is required. Create a profile page and then invite others into your network. When someone joins your network, you can "connect" with those in their network. Build your network and over time, you'll be able to search for and connect with people at hundreds of thousands of organizations. LinkedIn members can also see over 150,000 profiles of companies and nonprofits on LinkedIn. These profiles offer a concise overview of a company’s industry data (size, location, revenues, etc.), along with data culled from LinkedIn such as common job titles, median age, and median tenure. Users are also shown a list of LinkedIn users in their networks (up to 3 degrees away) who work at a company, plus a list of new hires, recent promotions and changes, and jobs posted on LinkedIn.

Job seekers can post their resume and receive updates about new jobs. NOTE: Need to register to use.

Free online job bank for finding jobs and employees in Minnesota. NOTE: Need to register to use.

A semi-annual survey designed to produce employment and wage estimates for about 800 occupation classifications. Comparable statistics are available in every area, Metropolitan Statistical Areas and sub-state regions.

Provides information about the entity that was created to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance

This program helps people age 55 and older (who meet eligibility guidelines) get the on-the-job training and current work experience they need through paid community service assignments.

Through this program, the department works strategically with businesses and educational institutions to train or retrain workers, expand work opportunities, and keep high-quality jobs in the state.

Includes information on legal issues, templates and tools, publications, research, education, conferences, etc. Need to be a member to access most information.

Provides a brief description of many of the Dept. of Labor's principal statutes most commonly applicable to businesses.
Examples of topics covered: Wages and hours, workplace safety and health, workers' compensation, Family and Medical Leave Act.

Chapter of the Society for Human Resource Management. Mission: To provide high quality professional development, information exchange, and networking opportunities for the human resource profession.

Provides an overview of human resources audits, along with useful examples of audit checklists. A collaborative effort with the law firm of Rider, Bennett, Egan and Arundel, LLP. It does not apply to every employer or situation and is not intended as legal advice.

Information about a federal tax credit available to all private sector businesses as an incentive to employers to hire workers in certain groups who consistently experience high rates of unemployment