HIS311 Roman Civilization Research Guide

Collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use by Paul Halsall of Fordham University. Contains hundreds of well-organized sources also includes links to visual and aural material, as art and archeology play a prominent role in the study of Ancient history. The Rome section features complete text works of major Roman historians, as well as primary source texts concerning the founding and imperial expansion of Rome, Roman emperors, Roman provinces, education, wars, religion, and other topics. Last update in 2007.

Site is dedicated to bringing Christian classic books to life. Includes information sources from the whole history of Christianity.

A collection of European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history.

Portal for European digital collections

First hand accounts of events throughout the history of the world. Image rich.

Provides access to a list of 441 works of classical literature by 59 different authors, including user-driven commentary and "reader's choice" Web sites. Mainly Greco-Roman works, all in English translation. A special feature are the full-text files of many of the works available via the site.

A digital library for Greek and Classical resources from the Classics Department at Tufts University for primary and secondary source scholarly works that cover the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. The collection contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Works are listed by author and you can browse the Greco-Roman Collection or use the search engine. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: vases, sculptures and sculptural groups, coins, buildings and gems. The site also has FAQs, essays, a historical overview, and an extensive library of art objects, and other resources. Special exhibits include The Ancient Olympics and Hercules.

A listing of over 5000 websites describing holdings of manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other primary sources for the research scholar

A collection of material ancient and modern about the ancient Christian Latin writer Tertullian and his writings. Includes a list of online books and articles, as well as a bibliography of research.