Skip to Main Content

HIS311 Roman Civilization Research Guide

Guide to finding contextual information and primary sources about Roman history from 800 BC - AD 476

How are encyclopedias and dictionaries useful?

They are great places to locate:

The meaning of an unfamiliar term
Background information on a concept or topic

Where can I search for encyclopedias and dictionaries?

**Below is a selected list of resources in which you can search for information in encyclopedias and dictionaries:**

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains hundreds of reference titles--encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc. For example: "Guide to the Ancient World".

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic encyclopedias such as: "Ancient Greece and Rome"

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. For example: "Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization".

Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Online version of the well-known & respected encyclopedia.

Examples of Atlases in the BU Library

Atlas of Ancient Rome
Call Number: BU Library Reference Collection 937.63 A8814 2017 (Vols. 1 & 2)
Atlas of the Greek and Roman World in Antiquity
Call Number: BU Library Atlases 912.38 A881o
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
Call Number: BU Library Atlases 913.2 B2762 2000
Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Rome
Call Number: BU Library Reference Collection 913.337 S286 1995

Examples of Encyclopedias / Dictionaries Covering Ancient Rome

Ancient Greece and Rome
Bridgeman Art Library Archive
Classical Tradition, The
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Encyclopedia of Religion
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear Through the Ages
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Love, Courtship, and Sexuality through History: The Ancient World
Guide to the Ancient World
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
Oxford Classical Dictionary
This established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. 4th ed.
Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World
Science and Its Times
Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia
Who's Who in the Classical World
Who's Who in The Roman World, Routledge

Examples of World History Encyclopedias / Dictionaries

Chambers Dictionary of World History
Concise Atlas of World History, Andromeda
Encyclopedia of Christian Civilization
Encyclopedia of World History
Encyclopedia of World Trade from Ancient Times to the Present
Encyclopedic Dictionary of World History, Andromeda
Hutchinson Chronology of World History
Hutchinson Encyclopedia
An authoritative insight into the worlds of science and technology, history, geography, politics and the arts.