HIS311 Roman Civilization Research Guide

The British Museum presents over 300 Ancient Rome artifacts online. Each is accompanied by a detailed description and both a thumbnail and large version of the images. There are also links to related images. There is no option to zoom in on an image.

Site is dedicated to bringing Christian classic books to life. Includes information sources from the whole history of Christianity.

Provides an impressive set of images of the art of ancient Greco-Roman art. Major categories include: "Art", "Pottery", "Gems", "Sculpture", and "Antiquaria" and helpful features include "Dictionary", "Databases", and "Tools." The images are of high quality, and the referencing tools provide helpful context for appreciating how the objects and why they are significant.

Produced by an enthusiast with a degree in Classics from Cambridge University. Has over 1000 pages of news, information, games and controversy about the life, literature, art and archaeology of the ancient world of Greece & Rome. Major sections include The Romans, Literature, Art, Social History, Philosophy, Archaeology, Education, and the "Greek Harry Potter."

Covers rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453). The encyclopedia consists of (1) an index of all the emperors who ruled during the empire's 1500 years, (2) a growing number of biographical essays on the individual emperors, (3) family trees ("stemmata") of important imperial dynasties, (4) an index of significant battles in the empire's history, (5) a growing number of capsule descriptions and maps of these battles, and (6) maps of the empire at different times.
These contents are supplemented by an ancient and medieval atlas, a link to a virtual catalog of Roman coins, and other recommended links to related sites.

Maintained by David Camden (studied Classics at Harvard University). Includes a virtual tour, a dictionary of Mythology, a Picture Index, and much information on History, Life, Language, and Literature.

Produced by the Weider History Group, the world's largest publisher of history magazines. Contains daily features, photo galleries, and over 5,000 articles originally published in their various magazines.

Developed by Dr. Steven Kreis for the undergraduate student who is either taking classes in history, or who intends to major in history in college. The purpose of "The History Guide" is to better prepare yourself for your history classes and to make your time in class more enjoyable and proficient.

Offers a comprehensive history of the Roman Empire through essays, chronologies, photo galleries, maps, lists, timelines, and more. Major categories include The Founding, The Kings, The Republic, Early Emperors, The Decline, The Collapse, Constantinople, Religion, Society, and The Army. It includes a Roman Empire Map AD 116 and interactive maps of Roman Italy, the Roman Empire, and the City of Rome. Among the photo galleries is a picture album of historic Roman sites as well as views of Rome as it looked in the 4th century AD. There are also lists of Roman battles, emperors, Roman place names, and other topics.

A student-centered PBS film-companion site that includes an extensive hyperlinked and illustrated essay on the Roman Empire. It also has many special features, including a Virtual Library with excerpts from writers of the time such as Tacitus, Petronius and Pliny the Younger; a Timeline to explore Rome in the First Century AD through the events of the time; an emperor Augustun Family Tree; and a Who are You? quiz to find out which emperor you most resemble. You can also read the words of poets and philosophers, learn about life in the 1st Century AD, and try your skills in their "Emperor of Rome" game. Full transcripts of each episode of "Rome in the First Century AD" are available as well as features on the expert historians were who consulted on this series.

A collection of material ancient and modern about the ancient Christian Latin writer Tertullian and his writings. Includes a list of online books and articles, as well as a bibliography of research.