Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bethel University Library

Library Resources & Services During Campus Closure

A guide to library resources and services during the Coronavirus campus closure.

Library Services & Resources

General Information

This guide is no longer current.  The library is now open, and you can see our Guide to Using the Library During Covid for more information

Due to Bethel's COVID-19 containment efforts, the Bethel University Library's physical spaces and resources (including our makerspace, study rooms, and physical collections) will be closed until the university resumes face-to-face classes.  

Despite the closure of our physical library, our large collection of digital resources as well as digital versions of many of our services will continue to be available.  We are eager to serve students and faculty in this challenging time, and this guide will be updated regularly with information about the availability of our resources and how to contact library staff. 

See updates on Facebook and Instagram or help us tell Bethel's story during the pandemic by sharing your story with the COVID-19 Community Archive Project below.

COVID-19 Pandemic Collection

Help Us Tell Bethel's Story!

The Bethel University Library is collecting materials to create an archive of our community’s individual and shared experiences during the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic. To capture this moment for future generations of teachers, researchers, and those who are curious about what actually happened during the pandemic, the Bethel University Library invites you to contribute your writing, art, photographs, drawings, videos, or anything else that documents your experience during this time.

Documenting a Pandemic: Bethel COVID-19 Community Archive Project provides Bethel University students, staff, faculty, and alumni a space to document and share individual and shared experiences in order to tell this story far into the future. We are also trying to add material to the collection that you all have already created from social media posts, news articles, podcasts, and resources but there are so many that we need your help to learn about them and gather them.

Resource Availability

During the campus closure the physical library will be closed and print resources will be unavailable, but all of the library's digital resources will be available as usual: 

Visit the Bethel Library website to access all of our online resources.

Services that Will Continue

During the closure, the Bethel Library will continue to provide remote versions of the following services until the physical library reopens:

  • Interlibrary Loan (Because many libraries are closed, or open with only limited services, some items will not be available. Other items will take significantly longer to arrive. Please contact illoan@bethel.edu if you have questions about the availability of material)
  • Research Assistance (via email, phone and live chat - see contact info below)
  • Library Instruction (faculty, contact your library liaison for more details, or browse our pre-made instruction videos)
  • Support of library resources (e.g., RefWorks, online databases, etc.)

For more details about any of the above, please contact the library staff using the contact options below.

Suspended Services

During the closure the following services will be unavailable:

  • Delivery and pickup of Bethel and CLIC items (physical items will be unavailable to request until our building re-opens)
  • Lamination
  • Equipment loans (cameras, chargers, laptops, etc.)

Library Items- Due Dates and Returns

The due date of items currently checked out has been extended through July 16, 2020.

You may return items to the Library Return dropbox at the Anderson Center.

Contact Us

During the closure the library staff will be working remotely to support student and faculty in the use of our online materials.  To get help from a librarian contact us in one of the following ways:

Email

Search our Staff Directory to email a specific library staff member.

Live Chat