Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bethel University Library

Using the Library During COVID-19

A guide to how our services, hours, and policies will be different in light of COVID-19.

Library Services & Resources

General Information

The library building is open for fall semester with slightly modified hours and services. Our spaces and seating have been adjusted to maintain social distancing, and personal protective equipment (PPE) like plexiglass sneeze guards and additional wipe and hand sanitizer dispensers have been installed for the safety of our community. You can read more about the changes we have in place to help our community stay healthy below.

Our digital collections and services also continue to be available for Bethel community members who are unable to come to our building.

See updates on Facebook and Instagram or help us tell Bethel's story during the pandemic by sharing your story with the COVID-19 Community Archive Project below.

Hours

Library 

Monday-Thursday: 7:30am-11pm

Friday: 7:30am-6pm

Saturday: 9am-6pm

Sunday: 2pm-11pm

See Library Calendar for exceptions

Research Assistance 

Monday-Thursday: 9am-6pm

Friday: 9am-4pm

Saturday:9am-4pm

See Library Calendar for exceptions

Makerspace

By appointment Monday-Friday: 8am-4:30pm 

(2 hour notice required)

 

 

 

Modifications to our Spaces

To help limit the transmission of COVID-19, the following modifications have been made to our physical spaces:

  • A capacity counter has been installed at the entrance to the library to indicate how full the library is at any given time.
  • The Check Out and Research Assistance desks have been combined.
  • Shelving and some furniture was removed to create new study spaces.
  • Furniture has been moved and rearranged to create as much socially distanced study space as possible.
  • Chairs have been removed so that only one person per table is the norm.
  • Study room capacity has been reduced and maximum capacity signs are posted.
  • More hand and wipe sanitation dispensers have been installed for your convenience.
  • The restrooms have been equipped with automatic lights and flushing systems.

Expectations of Library Users

To help ensure the library and its resources remain available and safe to use this fall, in addition to our normal policies the following is expected of library users:

  • Do not come to the library if you are not feeling well.
  • Remain at least 6 feet from other patrons and staff.
  • Wear a mask or face covering.
  • Sanitize or wash your hands before and after handling library materials.
  • Wipe tables and other surfaces when you are finished.

Wipes and hand sanitizer are available throughout the library.

Physical Resources

Our physical collections will be available as usual with the following caveats:

  • All items returned to the library will be quarantined for 72 hours.
  • Bible Ready Reference, Course Reserves, and other high-use items on our main floor will not be quarantined. Community members should sanitize hands before and after use.

Requesting from Other Libraries

 

  • Interlibrary Loan - We are once again taking requests for physical items through interlibrary loan, but because many libraries still have limited staff and services, some items will not be available. Other items will take significantly longer to arrive. Please contact illoan@bethel.edu if you have questions about the availability of material.
  • Requesting from other CLIC libraries - Requests can be made for items owned by the CLIC libraries via CLICsearch. Due to recommended safety procedures (quarantine, for example), please allow 4-5 business days from the time you submitted your request for requested items to be ready for you to pick up. Please contact library@bethel.edu with any questions.

Laptops and other Equipment

During the Fall 2020 semester, laptops and iPads will NOT be available from the Bethel University Library checkout desk.  Laptop and iPad loans are being handled by ITS, and you can contact the ITS Helpdesk or visit RC419 to learn more. 

Chargers, cameras, and other equipment will be available as usual.

Alumni & Guest Services

Due to campus policy, we cannot allow guest and alumni access to the library at this time. The expiration date of all guest cards has been extended to August 31, 2021. You may use MnLink Gateway to search for materials to be delivered to your local library. 

COVID-19 Pandemic Collection

Help Us Tell Bethel's Story!

The Bethel University Library is collecting materials to create an archive of our community’s individual and shared experiences during the COVID-19 (Coronavirus) pandemic. To capture this moment for future generations of teachers, researchers, and those who are curious about what actually happened during the pandemic, the Bethel University Library invites you to contribute your writing, art, photographs, drawings, videos, or anything else that documents your experience during this time.

Documenting a Pandemic: Bethel COVID-19 Community Archive Project provides Bethel University students, staff, faculty, and alumni a space to document and share individual and shared experiences in order to tell this story far into the future. We are also trying to add material to the collection that you all have already created from social media posts, news articles, podcasts, and resources but there are so many that we need your help to learn about them and gather them.

Contact Us

Get help from a librarian at the library or contact us in one of the following ways:

Email

Search our Staff Directory to email a specific library staff member.

Live Chat