LibGuides: BIO128/BIO399/ENS399: Searching

Smart Searching

To save time and effort when searching the library's online databases, try these searching tips:

Brainstorm a variety of keywords to use when searching (global warming, climate change, environmental health)

Use quotes to search for a phrase ("colony collapse disorder")

Connect keywords with and (agriculture and environment

Use or to search synonyms (swine flu or H1N1)

Use * to get different word endings (ethic* will find ethics, ethical, and ethically, etc.)

Use the peer reviewed, scholarly, or refereed search limiters in databases.

Library Search -- Books

Search for books and ebooks in LibSearch

Advanced Search

Search for Journals/Magazines

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus offers broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. It includes academic, peer-reviewed and trade journals, as well as patents and scientifically oriented websites. Also covers all Medline content.
PubMed MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 20 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. This is the freely available interface to the largest database of biomedical information in the world.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR covers complete back issues of journals of major research journals in a variety of academic disciplines. (Coverage ends at 4 years prior to the present year.) This is a great resource for back issues of journals like Science.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFile focuses on humans' impact on the environment. Its collection of titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.