LibGuides: Bethel University Library: A Brief Guide for Faculty: Resources

Online Guides & Tutorials

Would you like to know what resources are available for research in a certain subject area?

Would you like assistance with a specific online index/ database?

Looking for a place to direct your students for citation and writing assistance?

Check out the BU Library's Subject & Research Guides

Accessing Books, Articles, Videos, & More

Use LibSearch to find books, articles, videos, and more held in the Bethel University Library and our partner libraries.
Physical materials can be delivered to the Anderson Center or to your home by specifying the location in the LibSearch request form.
Items not held in the Bethel University Library or other member libraries can be found and requested via LibSearch by using the "Search Beyond Bethel Libraries" link at the top of your search results. More details about this process may be found here.

Accessing Periodical Articles

The Bethel Libraries subscribe to numerous online indexes/databases (indexing primarily journals, magazines, and newspapers) covering a variety of subject areas

Many journal articles are full text

Examples of online indexes/databases:
- Academic Search Premier
- Access World News
- Business Source Premier
- CINAHL Plus with Fulltext (Nursing & Allied Health)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)
- PsycINFO
- ProQuest US Newsstream
- Scopus

Complete list of online indexes/databases

Note: Articles in journals to which the BU Library does not subscribe can be requested from other libraries and delivered digitally via interlibrary loan as per these instructions. It's free, convenient, and really fast!

For searching assistance, contact the Research Assistance Desk (651.638.6224) or the Library Liaison for your Department / Program

NOTE: It is crucial that faculty are familiar with the resources in their field so that they can direct their students to the best resources, as well as efficiently conduct their own research

LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension for Google Chrome, Brave, Edge, Vivaldi, Safari, and Firefox that provides instant links to full text content as you do research on the web. Nomad works with your library to figure out the fastest path to content across thousands of publisher websites. Special enhancement is also performed in-line on sites like PubMed and Wikipedia.

Installing LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad in Action

Browse Academic Journals

Explore our library's journals with BrowZine

View top journals from your field in the BrowZine Scholarly Journal Room! BrowZine is a browsable newsstand of the library’s top journals. Easily discover, read, and monitor the key journals in your field.

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Provides ~ 68,000+ streaming videos spanning most subject areas and many genres, including documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Master Academic collection offers 12,500 full-length, curriculum-focused, streaming videos grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories: Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; and Health & Medicine. Unlimited access and use from any location.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning is an online educational platform that helps you discover and develop business, technology-related, and creative skills through expert-led course videos. **Formerly known as Lynda.com.
If you learned a lot from Lynda, LinkedIn Learning offers a new look and also still offers the same expert-led, quality instructional videos. For additional background and help, see: https://confluence.bethel.edu/display/TLT/LinkedIn+Learning
Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable.

Kanopy Changes: Due to rising costs, we need to prioritize curricular over recreational use of this collection. If you find that a video you want is not immediately accessible, please fill out the form provided to express your interest. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to gather additional information.
You can easily share films, create clips or teaching playlists, and embed them into the course system. Most films have closed captions and transcripts.
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
A streaming video collection providing access to training videos in the field of counseling, psychotherapy, psychology, and addiction.

RefWorks (Citation Manager)

Would you like to better organize the citations that you gather during research?

Would you like assistance with creating in-text citations and reference lists so that they are in the correct citation style?

Try RefWorks !

RefWorks Instructional Guide

Open Educational Resources

Looking for free educational resources you can use to engage your students and enhance your instruction?

Check out a this guide providing information about these great open resources!

Posting Links to Articles in Moodle

Need assistance with posting links to articles in Moodle?

Check out this guide to locating and using persistent links / permalinks!

Reminder: When you use persistent links (or permalinks) to articles found in one of the Library's research databases, you usually don't need to deal with copyright permission!

Alerting Services

Would you like to be alerted when a new issue of your favorite journal has been published?

Would you like a research database to let you know when it's found articles on a specific topic?

Check out the BU Library's Alerting Services information!

Image from: http://www.zyenweb.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/red-warning-sign-1024x819.jpg