Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bethel University Library

RefWorks (Citation Manager)

What is RefWorks?

A web-based citation manager that allows you to create your own personal database of references by importing them from online indexes/databases or text files, or by uploading PDFs into this tool.

RefWorks Logo

  • Each person needs to set up an individual account to use it
  • Click on the Account Set-up link in this guide for more information

How do I access RefWorks?

Here are a couple of ways to access RefWorks:

  • Via this link:  RefWorks logo

What are the advantages of using RefWorks?

  • It keeps your research more organized by allowing you to store in one place all of the references you have gathered from various online indexes/databases
  • It allows you to organize your references into subject folders
  • It provides links to articles that are full-text in one of the online indexes/databases to which the Bethel University Library subscribes, or to PDFs that have been uploaded into RefWorks
    (The latter is a great way to store articles requested from other libraries through interlibrary loan!)
  • It allows you to create bibliographies/reference lists in a selected citation style (e.g., APA)
  • If you use the companion program, RefWorks Citation Manager, it will format your in-text citations as well as your reference list

NOTE:  Although RefWorks is a great program, it is not perfect.  Therefore, when using RefWorks to create a bibliography/reference list, be aware that some editing may be needed after it has been created.