CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowA large research database for nursing and allied health literature. Lots of full text, cited reference lists, author affiliation info, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
PubMed MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowPubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Coverage goes back to the 1950s. PubMed also includes links to full-text articles and MeSH subject headings.
Nursing & Allied HealthThis link opens in a new windowContains a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScience Direct is one of the largest collections (2 million articles and 40 million abstracts) of science, technology, and medical information.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowScopus offers broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, including 100% Medline title coverage.
Top Medical and Nursing Journals
While databases cast a wide net across many publications, these links will take you directly to a search in an individual journal. Sometimes, this can be a useful way to search if you know that a journal covers the exact area you're focusing on.
Promotes excellence in nursing and health care through the dissemination of evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical information and original research, discussion of relevant and controversial professional issues, adherence to the standards of journalistic integrity and excellence, and promotion of nursing perspectives to the health care community and the public.
Latest practical and professional information based on continuing assessment of clinical nurses' needs. Clear, concise articles use a hands-on, how-to approach, enabling busy clinicians to save time and readily apply new concepts to everyday practice.
The official journal of the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Includes new research and current knowledge across a broad range of clinical and interprofessional topics including perinatal care, gynecology, sexual and reproductive health, primary care, public health, health care policy, and global health. With a focus on evidence-based practice, JMWH promotes health equity and excellence in midwifery.
Midwifery publishes the latest peer reviewed international research to inform the safety, quality, outcomes and experiences of pregnancy, birth and maternity care for childbearing women, their babies and families.
