Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Highly Recommended Databases
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals.
JSTOR provides full-text articles from a wide variety of scholarly journals. Coverage ranges from the 1890s (in select journals) to four years prior to the current year.
Christian Periodical Index
Provides access to articles and reviews written from an evangelical Christian perspective or of interest to the evangelical community. CPI currently indexes over 130 selected publications from the broad spectrum of knowledge including religion, science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education. Coverage is representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity
New Testament Abstracts
The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles and books related to New Testament studies.
Old Testament Abstracts
The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles and books related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database that provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Getting the full text of articles
Option 1 - Full text available within a database
- When the full text of an article is available, you'll see a PDF or HMTL link:
- Click on the link to be taken to the full text
Option 2 - Check other databses for full text
- When you don't see a full text link below a citation you find in a database, look instead for a link that says"Search for Bethel Libraries Full Text" or an icon like this:
- Click on the 360 Link to Full Text icon
- If full text is available you’ll be taken directly to the resource, journal, or article in another database
Option 3 - Ordering an article we don't have full text for
- If full-text is NOT available in any of our databases, clicking the "360 Link to Full Text" icon will take you to a page with a button that looks like this:
- Click the button to initiate an interlibrary loan request for the item*
- You'll see a request form with the article's information already filled out
- Double check that the citation information is correct, and click "Submit Request"
- You’ll be notified by email when the article is available, usually 3-5 work days - most articles are delivered electronically
*NOTE: If you've never made an interlibrary loan request for an item before, you'll first need to set up your ILLiad account
I have a citation--How do I find the article?
The most efficient way is to use one of the following:
The Journal Title Search tells you if we subscribe to a journal, and which databases have it.
The Citation Linker asks you to enter citation information and tries to link you to a full text copy of an article, if one is available.
Google Scholar searches many disciplines and sources, from
peer-reviewed papers to theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Full-text @ My Library will link to the article when available from the Bethel University Library.