LibGuides: Christian Ministries (CAPS): Reference & Exegesis

What is a "Reference" Work and Why is it Important?

What is a "Reference" Work and Why is it Important?

Reference books, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, are not intended to be read cover to cover. They're to be consulted for background, context, definition and outline, and they usually include brief but excellent bibliographies that point you to further research on the subject.

They're a great place to get quick info, or to get a basic grounding in something with which you may not be overly familiar.

The library has reference resources that are available in print and/or online. See the link(s) by each title for access options.

NOTE: Most of Bethel's print reference books may be checked out for short periods.

General Reference Databases

Use these databases for general searching. For specialized reference sources focused on exegesis or theological studies, see the "Biblical Studies Reference Sources" and "Theology Reference Sources" tabs in the left margin.

Credo Reference
Contains numerous reference titles--encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc.--in many subjects.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
The Gale Virtual Reference Library accesses a wealth of reference titles dealing with education, history, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, science, and social science.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Core Collection contains almost 400 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.