Research Databases
For more in-depth searching, search for articles in these databases one at a time.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches many disciplines and sources, from peer-reviewed papers to theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Full-text @ My Library will link to the article when available from the Bethel University Library.
(search results open in a new window)
Contact the Library
QuickSearch
Searches:
* Academic Search Premier * CINAHL * CLICnet * Expanded Academic ASAP * PubMed * Science Direct

Henry Dropsy - French soldier in hospital two nurses with wounded soldier - 1914-1915
Image from ARTstor
Journal Finder
Wondering if BUL has access to a journal or newspaper? Check here.
If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, request the item via ILLiad.
Finding full text of articles
- When the full text of an article is available, you'll see a PDF or HMTL link.
- When it's not available, Search for Bethel Libraries Full Text will connect you to full text in another resource or to request options.
- If full text is available you’ll be linked to the resource, journal, or article:

- If full-text is NOT available, click University Patrons to request the article:

1. Log into ILLiad with your Bethel username and password (Note: The first time you log in you will be asked to create an account)
2. Fill out the Request an Article form if it does not fill automatically
3. Fill in the last realistic date you can use the article
4. You’ll be notified by email when the article is available, usually 3-5 work days - most articles are delivered electronically
Instruction Surveys
Please click on the link below for your cohort to help me know how best to serve you.
Need Help? Ask Me! |
Carole Cragg, Associate Director BU LibraryBethel University Library
HC 315a
651-638-6065
Send Email
Subjects:
History, Nursing, Political Science, Social Work
Nursing Toolbar
Would you like to download a toolbar that stays in your browser window and offers quick access to many of the nursing resources listed in this guide?
Search Tips
You've got your research question; now it's time for effective searching. Try these tips:
- Brainstorm a variety of keywords (poverty, low-income, income level, social class)
- To Narrow search: Connect keywords with and (poverty and education and achievement)
- Use quotes to search for a phrase ("social inequality")
- To Broaden search: Use or to search synonyms (poverty or low-income and education)
- Search by keywords, not sentences (poverty and "secondary education" and achievement instead of effect of poverty on high school students)
- Use * to get different endings of a root word (school* searches for school, schools, schooling)
- Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait