LibGuides: HIS301 A New Nation Research Guide: Media

Videos / Audios

American Rhetoric: The Power of Oratory in the United States
Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. Developed and maintained by University of Texas at Tyler.

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.

Films on Demand: History Video Collection
This Master Academic collection offers full-length, curriculum-focused, streaming videos grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories. Unlimited access and use from any location.

Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable.

Kanopy Changes: Due to rising costs, we need to prioritize curricular over recreational use of this collection. If you find that a video you want is not immediately accessible, please fill out the form provided to express your interest. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to gather additional information.
You can easily share films, create clips or teaching playlists, and embed them into the course system. Most films have closed captions and transcripts.

Example of a Streaming Video

Images

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.

Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains
Includes photographs, paintings, ledger drawings, documents, serigraphs, and stereographs from 1874 through the 1940's. Maintained by Montana State University.
Minnesota Reflections
Images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. A project of the Minnesota Digital Library.
NYPL Digital Collections
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Picturing the Century: One Hundred Years of Photography from the National Archives
Commemorates the end of the 20th century with a selection of photographs from the vast and varied holdings of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Images from the Library of Congress collection, including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Science Service Historical Image Collection (Smithsonian Institution)
Represents 20th-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications. The captions were written by Science Service journalists and have been transcribed exactly. A 40-year random sample of innovation and invention is provided, which is specific to the subject of electricity.