LibGuides: HIS301 A New Nation Research Guide: Articles

Where can I search for journal articles?

Below is a selected list of online indexes/databases in which you can begin searching for journal articles:

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database that provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
African American Registry
The African American Registry® is a calendar-based series of Black American accomplishments from before the Mayflower to the present. The Registry communicates the message that African American Contributions are American Contributions!
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text articles from a wide variety of scholarly journals. Coverage ranges from the 1890s (in select journals) to four years prior to the current year. Also has more than 13,000 open access (OA) books.

Making of America Journals (Cornell University)
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

Making of America Journals (Michigan)
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides online access to over 300 high-quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Also has 6500+ eBooks.
SAGE Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of more than 500 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. ***NOTE*** Full text access ends with 2022.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) (a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC)).

Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
Digital access to the issues of the Minneapolis Tribune, Minneapolis Daily Tribune, Daily Minnesota Tribune, and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune published between 1867-1922. Provided by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Historical New York Times (1851-Current File)