Bethel University Library : A Guide for Seminary Distance Faculty

Advanced Search

You may use LibSearch to request books and journals articles that are not available online. 

• Books
  • Search for the item you are looking for in LibSearch.
  • If the book is available at the Bethel Library, use the Request from a Bethel Library link to place a request. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If the book is not available at Bethel, use the Get It button to get a physical copy. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If you need just one chapter of the book, use the Get It button to get a digital copy of the chapter. The chapter will be delivered to your LibSearch account as a PDF file.
  • If you don't see the item you need in your search results, use the search beyond Partner Libraries link above the search results to search other libraries who could share with us. When you find the item, use the Get It button to get a physical copy. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If you can't find the item after expanding your search, use the Still didn't find what you need? Click here to send a request link above the search results to place a request via a blank form.
• Articles
  • Search LibSearch or the subject databases to find articles.
  • When you locate the article you need, check to see if it's available online. If you are in one of the databases, click on the PDF Full Text link or use the Check for full text link.
  • If the article isn't available online, use the Get It button to get a digital copy of the article. The article will be delivered to your LibSearch account as a PDF file.
  • If you can't find the item after expanding your search, use the Still didn't find what you need? Click here to send a request link above the search results in LibSearch to place a request via a blank form.

The mailing policy for library materials can be found at https://www.bethel.edu/library/services/distance. The library covers the cost of mailing material to distance faculty. The faculty member is responsible for the cost of return postage. Books may be mailed using Library Rate.

Library services and resources for adjunct faculty may vary based on your current status in Banner. 

• Requesting Books
  • Search for the item you are looking for in LibSearch.
  • If the book is available at the Bethel Library, use the Request from a Bethel Library link to place a request. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If the book is not available at Bethel, use the Get It button to get a physical copy. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If you need just one chapter of the book, use the Get It button to get a digital copy of the chapter. The chapter will be delivered to your LibSearch account as a PDF file.
  • If you don't see the item you need in your search results, use the search beyond Partner Libraries link above the search results to search other libraries who could share with us. When you find the item, use the Get It button to get a physical copy. Faculty may request pickup at Bethel University Library or at the Anderson Center. You may also request Personal Delivery to your home address.
  • If you can't find the item after expanding your search, use the Still didn't find what you need? Click here to send a request link above the search results to place a request via a blank form.
  • Contact the library if you have any difficulty requesting books.
• Requesting Articles
  • Search LibSearch or the subject databases to find articles.
  • When you locate the article you need, check to see if it's available online. If you are in one of the databases, click on the PDF Full Text link or use the Check for full text link.
  • If the article isn't available online, use the Get It button to get a digital copy of the article. The article will be delivered to your LibSearch account as a PDF file.
  • If you can't find the item after expanding your search, use the Still didn't find what you need? Click here to send a request link above the search results in LibSearch to place a request via a blank form.
  • Contact Interlibrary Loan if you have andy difficulty requesting articles.
• Accessing Online Resources
  • Access to databases, online journals and ebooks is based on on your current status in Banner. If you aren't currently teaching a class, you may not have access to online resources.
  • Contact the Library Research Desk if you have questions about accessing online resources.