LibGuides: Political Science: Finding Books and Media

Search for books and ebooks in LibSearch

Video/Media

Films on Demand

The Master Academic collection offers 40,00+ curriculum-focused, streaming videos representing most subjects: Humanities & Social Sciences; Business & Economics; Science & Mathematics; and Health & Medicine. Also includes documentaries, archival films, and newsreels. Unlimited access and use from any location.

Internet Archive's TV News Archive
Searchable database of TV news clips from "2009 to yesterday"

Political Science Reference Sources

Reference Books

Reference books contain short articles that explain key concepts and people and define commonly-used terms. Reference books are a helpful way to get a "big picture" view of a topic. Think of them as being Wikipedia articles, only written by scholars for an academic audience.

Encyclopedia of Political Science
An encyclopedia with over 1,600 entries on key political concepts, theories, and individuals.
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
Definitions of key terms and biographies of political scientists and philosophers.

more... less...

Browse the articles by letter or use the "Search In this Title" box to find something specific.
CIA World Factbook
Comprehensive information on nations around the globe.

more... less...

The World Factbook contains dozens of datapoints and statistics and is updated frequently. Browse the countries, which are listed in alphabetical order.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
The articles in this book cover history, political theory, governing institutions and political concepts.

more... less...

Look for the box on the left side that says "Search within this work" to find an article on your subject.
CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Almanac
Summaries of the activities of each session of Congress, organized into chapters on major legislative topics.
Congress & the Nation
Similar to CQ Almanac, this publication summarizes legislative activity and its historical context.

more... less...

Included in this link are 12 e-books. The volume titles will tell you which years are covered in each book.
Dictionary of Politics and Government
Focuses on British and American systems of government.

more... less...

Browse the table of contents or use the "Search Within" box to find short articles on specific topics.