LibGuides: Political Science: Finding Articles

Research Databases

Databases for Political Science Research

Databases are search tools that give you access to scholarly works, most often journal articles. Some databases are multidisciplinary and others focus on scholarship from a particular discipline. Read the descriptions beneath each link to find out more.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premier is a large, multidisciplinary database. It will include up to date articles from several sources, both scholarly journals and popular media, so is particularly well suited to current event topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is another multi-disciplinary database, containing articles from scholarly journals from the early 20th century to the present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project Muse has several journals in the humanities and social science with full-text links to article PDFs.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Searches several Proquest Social Science databases concurrently. Subject coverage includes Education, Psychology, Social Services and Sociology.

News Sources

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides global, regional and local news, including the Pioneer Press and many other Minnesota news sources, as well as a variety of national and international news outlets, broadcast news transcripts and video. Includes full image page views for about 200 newspapers and full text for several thousand others.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Political Science Journals

Browse through the recent issues of these prominent political science journals, or look for options to search within these publications.

General Political Science Journals

American Political Science Review (1988-present)
The flagship, peer-reviewed journal of the American Political Science Association.
Perspectives on Politics (2003-present)
A peer-reviewed publication from the American Political Science Association focused on the relationship of Political Science scholarship and the public sphere.
Political Science Quarterly (1886 - 2013)
A journal with broad political science coverage from the Academy of Political Science.
more...less...
The most recent 5 years are available via other links or in the library in print -- complete back issues are available with this link via JSTOR.
Political Science Quarterly (2013 - present)
A journal with broad political science coverage from the Academy of Political Science.
more...less...
Most recent 6 months are not available online, but are available in print
Policy Studies Journal (1994-1 year ago)
Articles, critical essays, symposia and book reviews on the field of public policy (political science). Peer-reviewed.
Journal of Politics (2010-present)
A journal covering political theory, comparative politics, international relations, and more. Peer-reviewed.

Special Topics and International Relations Journals

Politics and Religion (2008-present)
Articles on the intersection of politics and religion around the world. Peer-reviewed.
European Journal of International Relations (1999-present)
A peer-reviewed journal covering the broad spectrum of international relations topics.
Foreign Affairs (1922-present)
A journal from the Council on Foreign Relations covering current global events.
The Economist website
The economist has an international focus and provides analysis/commentary on financial, political, and technology issues among other things.
Bethel users click here for the username and password for full text access.