Skip to Main Content

Exegesis

Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

All the People in the Bible by Richard R. Losch
ISBN: 9780802824547
Publication Date: 2008-05-13
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
ISBN: 9780385193511
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Editor); Craig G. Bartholomew (Editor); Daniel J. Treier (Editor); N. T. Wright (Editor)
ISBN: 0801026946
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Dictionary of Biblical Imagery by Leland Ryken (Editor); James C. Wilhoit (Editor); Tremper Longman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830814510
Publication Date: 1998
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Joel B. Green (General Editor); Jeannine K. Brown (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9780830824564
Publication Date: 2013
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Craig A. Evans (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830867349
Publication Date: 2000
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Gerald F. Hawthorne (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830874910
Publication Date: 1993
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters (2nd ed.) by Scot McKnight (Editor); Lynn H. Cohick (Editor); Nijay K. Gupta (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830817856
Publication Date: 2023-04-11
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by Bill T. Arnold; H. G. M. Williamson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830817825
Publication Date: 2005-11-11
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch by T. Desmond Alexander (Editor); David W. Baker (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830867370
Publication Date: 2010
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Prophets by Mark J. Boda (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830817849
Publication Date: 2012
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings by Tremper Longman III (Editor)
ISBN: 9780830817832
Publication Date: 2008
The Eerdmans Encyclopedia of Early Christian Art and Archaeology by Paul Corby Finney (Editor)
ISBN: 9780802838117
Publication Date: 2016-11-11
Encyclopedia Judaica by Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
ISBN: 9780028659282
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Encyclopedia of Semiotics by Paul Bouissac (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195120905
Publication Date: 1998-09-10
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception by Hans-Josef Klauck; Christine Helmer (Editor); Steven L. McKenzie (Editor); Thomas Chr. Römer (Editor); Jens Schröter (Editor); Barry Dov Walfish (Editor); Eric Ziolkowski (Editor)
ISBN: 9783110199048
Publication Date: 2007-07-06
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by Lawrence H. Schiffman (Editor); James C. VanderKam (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195084504
Publication Date: 2000-04-06
Oxford Encyclopedia of Biblical Interpretation by Steven L. McKenzie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199832262
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics by Robert L. Brawley (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780199829910
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies by Julia M. O'Brien (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780199836994
Publication Date: 2014-11-14
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Theology by Samuel E. Balentine
ISBN: 9780199858699
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible by Michael D. Coogan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195377378
Publication Date: 2011-11-18

Bible Handbooks

The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook by J. Scott Duvall (Editor); J. Daniel Hays (Editor)
ISBN: 9780801012969
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion by Louis Jacobs
ISBN: 0192800884
Publication Date: 1999-09-09
A Dictionary of the Bible by W. R. F. Browning
ISBN: 9780199543984
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
A Handbook of New Testament Exegesis by Craig L. Blomberg
ISBN: 9780801031779
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by Bruce M. Metzger (Editor); Michael David Coogan (Editor)
ISBN: 0195046455
Publication Date: 1993-10-14
The Oxford Guide to People and Places of the Bible by Michael D. Coogan (Editor); Bruce M. Metzger (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195146417
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
The Oxford Handbook of Apocalyptic Literature by John J. Collins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199856497
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
The Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies by Judith M. Lieu (Editor); J. W. Rogerson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199254255
Publication Date: 2006-05-18
The Oxford Handbook of the Dead Sea Scrolls by Timothy H. Lim (Editor); John J. Collins
ISBN: 9780199207237
Publication Date: 2010-12-27
The Oxford Handbook of the Psalms by William P. Brown (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199783335
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
The Oxford Handbook of the Reception History of the Bible by Michael Lieb; Emma Mason (Editor); Jonathan Roberts (Editor); Christopher Rowland (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780199204540
Publication Date: 2011-06-04

Online Commentaries

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Due to the limited availability of e-commentaries from publishers, most series listed below are incomplete. Click a series title to see the biblical books available in that series.

Abingdon Old & New Testament Commentaries
Most OT books

All NT books
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries
Most OT, NT, & Apocrypha Books
Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture
All OT & NT Books

Note: The volumes in the Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture series focus on interpretations from the Early Church era (e.g. Augustine, Clement of Alexandria, John Chrysostom, etc.) rather than more modern scholarship
Apollos Old Testament Commentaries
ISBN: 9780830825257
Exodus

Numbers 1-19

Ruth

Proverbs

Obadiah, Jonah, Micah

Haggai, Zechariah, & Malachi
Asia Bible Commentary
ISBN: 9781783688654
Many OT & NT Books
Baker Commentary on the Old Testament
Genesis

Numbers

Joshua

Job

Psalms (3 vol.)

Proverbs

Ecclesiastes

Song of Songs

Isaiah

Hosea - Micah
Baker Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament
Most NT Books
Belief: A Theological Commentary
Genesis

Deuteronomy

1&2 Samuel

Proverbs

Ecclesiastes

Lamentations & the Song of Songs

Matthew

Mark

Luke

Acts

Romans

1 Corinthians

Galatians

Ephesians

Philippians & Philemon

1&2 Thessalonians

1&2 Timothy, Titus

Hebrews

James

1&2 Peter, Jude

Revelation
Believers Church Bible Commentaries
Most OT & NT Books
Brazos Theological Commentaries
Select OT & NTBooks
Brill Exegetical Commentary Series by David L. Mathewson and Stanley E. Porter (Editors)
Publication Date: 2023-11-08
Colossians, Philemon

1-2 Timothy, Titus
Hermeneia: a critical and historical commentary on the Bible
Judges

1&2 Chronicles

Psalms

Song of Songs

Jeremiah

Ezekiel

Daniel

Hosea

Joel

Amos

Micah

Zephaniah

Matthew

Mark

Luke

Acts

Romans

1 Corinthians

Galatians

Philippians

Colossians & Philemon

Pastoral Epistles

Hebrews

James

Johannine Epistles

Select Apocryphal Books & Early Church Writings
International Critical Commentary
Most OT & NT Books
Interpretation, A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching (series)
All OT & NT Books
The IVP Bible Background Commentary - New Testament
Single volume

NT
The IVP Bible Background Commentary - Old Testament
Single volume

OT
The New American Commentary
Most OT & NT Books
New International Commentaries on the New Testament (NICNT)
Most NT Books
New International Commentaries on the Old Testament (NICOT)
Most OT Books
New International Greek Testament Commentaries (NIGTC)
Matthew

Mark

Luke

Romans

1 Corinthians

2 Corinthians

Galatians

Colossians & Philemon

1&2 Thessalonians

Pastoral Epistles

Hebrews

James

Revelation
The New Testament in Color by Esau McCaulley (Editor); Janette H. Ok (Associate Editor); Osvaldo Padilla (Associate Editor); Amy L. B. Peeler (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9780830814091
Publication Date: 2024-08-06
Single volume
New Testament Library
Most NT Books
Old Testament Library
All OT Books
Paideia Commentaries on the New Testament
Most NT Books
Pillar New Testament Commentaries (PNTC)
Most NT Books
Reformation Commentary on Scripture Series
Genesis 1-11

Joshua, Judges, Ruth

1-2 Samuel, 1-2 Kings, 1-2 Chronicles

Psalms

Jeremiah, Lamentations

Ezekiel, Daniel

Luke

John

Acts

Romans

1 Corinthians

2 Corinthians

Galatians & Ephesians

Philippians, Colossians

1-2 Thessalonians, 1-2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon

Hebrews, James

Note: The volumes in the Reformation Commentary on Scripture series focus on interpretations from the Reformation era (e.g., Luther, Calvin, etc.) rather than more modern scholarship
Teach the Text Commentary Series
Select OT and NT books
Tyndale New Testament Commentaries
All NT Books
Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries
Most OT Books
Understanding the Bible Commentary Series
Most OT & NT books
Westminster Bible Companion (series)
Most OT & NT Books
Wisdom Commentary
Leviticus

Judges

Ruth

2 Kings

Psalms

Proverbs

Ecclesiastes

Song of Songs

Lamentations

Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah

Micah

Haggai & Malachi

Mark

Luke

John

Acts

2 Corinthians

Ephesians

Philippians, Colossians, Philemon

1-2 Thessalonians

1-2 Timothy, Titus

Hebrews

1&2 Peter, Jude
Women's Bible Commentary by Carol A. Newsom (Editor)
Single volume

OT/NT Introductions & Surveys (ebooks)

Bible Atlases

Oxford Bible Atlas by Adrian Curtis
Call Number: Reference 220.91 O982 2007
ISBN: 9780191001581
Publication Date: 2007-03-22
Also available online

Greek Language Tools

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament: Abridged in One Volume by Gerhard Kittel (Editor); Gerhard Friedrich (Editor); Geoffrey W. Bromiley (Editor)
ISBN: 9780802824042
Publication Date: 1985-07-10
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (10 volumes) by Gerhard Kittel (Editor); Gerhard Friedrich (Editor); Geoffrey W. Bromiley (Translator)
ISBN: 9780802822437
Publication Date: 1964-03-01

Hebrew Language Tools

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (17 volumes) by G. Johannes Botterweck (Editor); Helmer Ringgren (Editor)
ISBN: 9780802867469
Publication Date: 2011-10-21

Web Resources

Blue Letter Bible
A site that can be very helpful for looking up passages, finding Strong's numbers, and seeing a passage alongside the original Greek or Hebrew (look for the "Tools" button after a search). Be wary of the commentaries and reference resources on this site, as they are generally older, public domain sources.
StudyLight.org
A useful site for finding verses, viewing a passage in English alongside Hebrew or Greek in an interlinear Bible, and looking up Strong's numbers or TDNT/TWOT references.
Bible Study Tools
Similar to the above sites