LibGuides: HIS/POS 305G The Cold War Research Guide: Articles and Journals

Where can I search for articles?

LibSearch

Advanced Search

Can't find the item you were looking for?

Try WorldCat for a search of nearly all libraries

Online Databases

Below is a selected list of online indexes/databases in which you can begin searching for journal and newspaper articles:

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text articles from a wide variety of scholarly journals. Coverage ranges from the 1890s (in select journals) to four years prior to the current year. Also has more than 13,000 open access (OA) books.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE provides online access to over 300 high-quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Also has 6500+ eBooks.
ProQuest US Newsstream
U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, Chicago Tribune, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune.
SAGE Journals Online
Provides online access to the full text of more than 500 SAGE journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. ***NOTE*** Full text access ends with 2022.

Want some tips on searching online databases? Check out this History Research Guide page.

Examples of Journals Including Information on the Cold War

Rather than searching whole databases, you can also search for specific journals titles and then browse or search within them to find relevant articles. Here are a selection of journals that cover subjects related to the Cold War.

Some other journals that may be helpful:

Tip: Use the Journal Search in LibSearch to search for specific journal titles.