RefWorks (Citation Manager)

Import From an Online Index/Database:

Because many online index/databases have a unique way of exporting references, you will need to follow the instructions for each type of database.  

Locate the name of the database in the Instructions for Importing References into RefWorks box on this page.

NOTE:
Directions are designed for PCs running Mozilla Firefox browsers.  "Save" steps may vary when using Macs or other browsers.

Upload the PDF of an Article/Document:

Upload a PDF/document from your computer

• Click on the Add a reference icon in the upper left corner
• Click on Upload document
• When the File Upload window opens, locate the document file you would like to upload
• Double-click on the file
• When the file has uploaded, check to see if any edits need to be made to its record
  (See the Edit References link in this guide)

Drag a PDF/document into RefWorks

• Locate the document file on your computer
• Click on the file and drag it into RefWorks
• When the file has uploaded, check to see if any edits need to be made to its record

HINT:  This is a great option for articles found in PubMed

Upload the PDF of an Article/Document into a Reference Already Imported from an Online Index/Database:

• Click on My Folders
• Click on the name of the folder in which the reference is located
• Locate the reference to which you would like to upload the PDF
• Click on the title of the reference
• When the record for the reference appears in the right column, click on the Edit the selected document icon (Pencil) in the upper right corner
• Upload the PDF by
  • Clicking on and dragging the file into the record
    • A blue circle with the phrase Drop file here to add to reference should appear when you drag the file into the record
                     OR
  • Clicking on the Add an attachment link
    • Locate the file and double-click on it

• Wait for the file to be completely uploaded
• The blue Read button should appear when the file has been completely uploaded

Create a New Reference:

• Click on the Add a reference icon (Plus sign) in the upper left corner
• Click on Create new reference
• Select the correct format of your reference from the drop-down menu (e.g., Journal Article, Book, Web Page)
• Fill in the fields with the information about the reference
• Click on Save in the upper right corner

Export From the Full Text Linker:

While searching in online indexes/databases, you may notice a Check for Full Text link next to many references

• If a Check for for Full Text link appears next to the reference you would like to import into RefWorks, click on it
• You should now be in LibSearch
• Click on the RefWorks icon

• If the ProQuest RefWorks Export to the new RefWorks box appears, click on it
  • Login to RefWorks
  • The message Import complete should appear toward the top of the RefWorks page
  • Click on OK
                                   OR
• If the RefWorks login page appears, login and proceed

Import References From a Reference Manager or a File:

• Click on the Add a reference icon in the upper left corner
• Click on Import references
   
• Import from a reference manager
  • From another RefWorks account
    • Click on RefWorks
    • Click on Authorize
    • Login to a Legacy RefWorks account
    • Follow the prompts to migrate your content and setting into your new RefWorks account
  • From Mendeley
    • Click on Authorize
    • Login to your Mendeley account
    • References in your Mendeley account will be automatically imported into RefWorks
       
• Import from a file (e.g., RIS, BibTeX, PubMed)
  • Drag the file into RefWorks
                         OR
  • Select a file from your computer
    • Locate the file and double-click on it