LibGuides: HIS354 Modern Europe Research Guide: Encyclopedias / Dictionaries

How are encyclopedias and dictionaries useful?

How are encyclopedias and dictionaries useful?

They are great places to locate:

Where can I search for encyclopedias and dictionaries?

Credo Reference
Contains 270+ reference titles on virtually every subject. Includes such titles as: Chambers Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of African History, Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture, Encyclopedia of the American Civil War, Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers, Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World, New Encyclopedia of the American West, and Reader's Companion to American History

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides access to a number of online, subject specific encyclopedias such as: American Decades, Ancient Greece and Rome, Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Encyclopedia of India, and Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Oxford Reference Online
Published by Oxford University Press. A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Includes such titles as: Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Oxford Companion to United States History, Oxford Companion to World War II, Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages, Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance, Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation

Britannica Online
Online version of the well-known and respected encyclopedia. Browse by categories such as "Subjects", "Biographies", or "Quotations"; or search by keyword.

Companion to World War II
Brings together a series of fresh academic perspectives on World War II, exploring the many cultural, social, and political contexts of the war. Essay topics range from American anti-Semitism to the experiences of French-African soldiers, providing new contributions to the genre. A collection of original historiographic essays that include cutting-edge research. Analyzes the roles of neutral nations during the war. Examines the war from the bottom up through the experiences of different social classes. Covers the causes, key battles, and consequences of the war.
Dictionary of Contemporary History
Concise guide to the ideas, events, people and movements that have shaped the world from the end of the Second World War to the present. Covers all major countries of the world, as well as general issues of international significance, including the global economy, population explosion and women's liberation.
Dictionary of Contemporary World History
Provides informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day

Encyclopedia of the European Union
Provides in-depth, authoritative discussions of the key concepts, developments, institutions, policies, negotiations, treaties, national interests, personalities, etc., related to European integration

Encyclopedia of World Trade from Ancient Times to the Present
The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail.
Hutchinson Encyclopedia
An authoritative insight into the worlds of science and technology, history, geography, politics and the arts.
Oxford Companion to British History
Covers all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. Provides essential information touching all aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, institutions, etc.
Oxford Companion to Irish History
1,800 A-Z entries explore Irish history from earliest times to the early 21st century
Oxford Companion to Scottish History
Includes more than 20 centuries of history, covering areas such as archaeology, climate, culture, languages, immigration, migration, and emigration
Reader's Guide to British History
Contains A-Z entries on the history of Britain, from ancient and Roman Britain to the present day. Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on the subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field.
World Politics Since 1945
Essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history. Check out the section "Europe Remodeled".

Below are examples of encyclopedias and dictionaries covering world history:

Chambers Dictionary of World History
Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history
Concise Atlas of World History, Andromeda
Allows the user to trace the developments in one region of the world through time, or compare the nature of different civilizations in any given period. Each map is accompanied by an informative essay on the region and period. In addition, each regional map includes keys to geographical, political, and social details (cities, battle sites, borders, and migrations of population etc.), as well as numbered pointers that further elucidate major historical events and themes embodied in the map.
Dictionary of World History
Contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory up to the present day. Includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places.
Encyclopedia of World History
A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000
Hutchinson Chronology of World History
A chronology of world history through 2011