It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contains 270+ reference titles on virtually every subject.
Includes such titles as:
Chambers Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of African History, Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society & Culture, Encyclopedia of the American Civil War, Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers, Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World, New Encyclopedia of the American West, and Reader's Companion to American History
Provides access to a number of online, subject specific encyclopedias such as:
American Decades, Ancient Greece and Rome, Encyclopedia of American Immigration, Encyclopedia of India, and Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Published by Oxford University Press. A fully-indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Includes such titles as:
Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages, Oxford Companion to United States History, Oxford Companion to World War II, Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages, Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance, Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States, and Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Includes overviews of periods of social change: Great Depression,gilded age, civil war etc. and topics such as women and work, business culture, race, ethnicity, religion in social context. Bibliographies for further resesrch.
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 305.5 D433w (Vols. 1-6)
A look at what kind of work Americans did, the homes they lived in, the goods they bought, the entertainment they sought, and the society and history that shaped their world (Vol. 1: The working class; Vol. 2: The middle class; Vol. 3: The upper class; Vol. 4: Their children; Vol. 5: At war; Vol. 6: Women at work)