HIS307 The American Civil War Research Guide

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924, or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with Abraham Lincoln, including the complete Abraham Lincoln Papers from the Manuscript Division. This resource guide compiles links to digital materials related to Lincoln such as manuscripts, letters, broadsides, government documents, and images that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on Lincoln and a bibliography containing selected works for both general and younger readers.

Primary resources thematically organized with notes and discussion questions. Historical documents, literary texts, and works of art.

Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. Developed and maintained by University of Texas at Tyler.

Provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Organized by time period. From the Yale Law Library.

Includes: Official records; address & speeches; acts, bills, & orders; military correspondence & documents; personal correspondence & narratives, prints & photos; maps; document collections

A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. It currently includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

First hand accounts of events throughout the history of the world. Image rich.

A Project of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Features links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials.

Digitized collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more millions of digital items from several hundred of the Library of Congress' historical collections.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Provides a Civil War timeline. Allows one to browse by topic, event, or collection.

Papers of the War Department 1784-1800, will make some 55,000 documents of the early War Department many long thought irretrievable but now reconstructed through a painstaking, multi-year research effort available online to scholars, students, and the general public.

Online sources divided into United States and World History

This collection brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. NOTE: One must register to use this resource.

Housed in the "Making of America" digital collections hosted by the Cornell University Library

Housed in the Hathi Trust Digital Library