What's Next?
Once you've searched for items, the next step is to discover if they are available on the shelves in Bethel's library or are available in the library's online databases.
Try the instructions on this page to locate books and articles in the Bethel University Library.
What is LibSearch? Why use it?
LibSearch gathers together information about all types of library materials. Whether you need a commentary on Philippians, an article for a biology class, or a musical score, LibSearch will help you quickly discover how to find what you need. Some items are physically on our library shelves, while others can be accessed online with just a few clicks.
LibSearch is a great place to start researching because it includes the broadest range of materials. Logging in with your Bethel credentials also allows you access to unique benefits, including instant renewal of materials you have checked out, options to save items or searches to revisit later, or the ability to request books and articles from other libraries through interlibrary loan.
What is a database? Why use one?
Library databases are collections of articles, abstracts, and/or citations. Sometimes these databases have a specific discipline focus, like education or chemistry. Other databases like Academic Source Premier have scholarly content from nearly all academic areas of study.
Using databases is a great way to find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles to help you in your research. The articles in the library databases are free to you either because we have access to them through a subscription or because we can get them from another library through a process called interlibrary loan. Using carefully chosen keywords and limiting your search by resource type (like peer-reviewed journals), publication date, and/or subject can provide you with a good set of results to start your research journey.
To find the best databases for a specific subject, use the Best Bets drop-down near the bottom of the library homepage.
To find a specific database, search by name near the bottom of the library homepage.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC 4.0
