LibGuides: Country Information: Reference

What is "Reference" and What is it Good For?

Reference books (dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, casebooks, etc.) are not intended to be read cover to cover. Consult them for background, context, definition and outline. They're a great place to get quick facts or a concise overview of a subject. Bonus--they often include brief but excellent bibliographies that point you to further research on the subject.

We have many print reference books, but the vast majority in our collection are e-books that you can use from wherever you have internet connections.

NOTE: Most of Bethel's print reference books may be checked out for short periods.

E Reference

Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new window
A country-by-country resource for learning about culture, customs, history, and language worldwide. Consists of 175 Country Guides of 119 topics each.
• Students and teachers in academic institutions use Global Road Warrior to research issues in international & cross-cultural studies, international business, the social sciences, women’s studies, language studies, and study abroad programs.
• Student and adult library patrons use Global Road Warrior to get wide and deep coverage of difficult-to-find country information related to culture, business, travel, and local living.
• Clients of international relocation companies use Global Road Warrior to help adapt comfortably and quickly to their new settings.
• Global firms use the extensive business culture content of Global Road WarriorTM to help facilitate international business transactions.
• Government agencies of numerous countries use Global Road Warrior to help promote trade missions and as an aid in diplomatic negotiations.

Britannica Online
Credo Reference
Contains hundreds of reference titles--encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc. Covers virtually every subject.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A growing collection of reference titles on most subjects. Religion especially well represented.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Countries and Their Cultures
Examines over 200 countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts.
Cultural Sociology of the Middle East, Asia, & Africa: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of India
A survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan by Thomas H. Johnson; Ludwig W. Adamec
Publication Date: 2021-05-15
Contains a chronology, an introduction, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has more than 1,000 cross-referenced entries on important personalities as well as aspects of the country’s politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region.
New Encyclopedia of Africa
Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 3rd ed.
Publication Date: 2017
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents. . . information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.