LibGuides: Journalism Research Guide: Find Articles & Journals

Scholarly, Popular, Trade?

Different types of publications have different purposes and different audiences. When we talk about journals, we can usually divide these publications into three broad categories: scholarly, popular, and trade publications.

	Scholarly Journals	Popular Journals	Trade Journals
Purpose	Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.	Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.	Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.
Authors	Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.	Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.	Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.
Audience	Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.	Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.	Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Scholarly Journals

Popular Journals

Trade Journals

Purpose

Informs and reports on original research done by scholars and experts in the field.

Entertains and informs a general audience without providing in-depth analysis.

Reports on industry trends and new products or techniques useful to people in a trade or business.

Authors

Articles are written by subject specialists and experts in the field.

Articles are written by journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.

Articles are written by specialists in a certain field or industry.

Audience

Intended for a limited audience - researchers, scholars, and experts.

Intended for a broad segment of the population, appealing to non-specialists.

Intended for practititioners in a particular profession, business, or industry.

Databases for Journalism Scholarly Research

Need to find an article? These are good places to start.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Contains full-text articles published since 1915 and focused on Communication Studies, including mass media, journalism, television, radio, newspaper publishing, advertising, broadcasting, communication theory, and much more.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary database that provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
SAGE Journals Online
Contains full-text articles from over 500 scientific, social science, and humanities-related journals published by Sage, including many Communications-specific journals.

Journal Articles Bethel Does Not Have

Try requesting it from another library via LibSearch:

Search for the item you are looking for in LibSearch
If you don't see it, click on "search beyond partner libraries"
Scroll down to see request options

You will be notified via email when the article is available for download.

An independent weekly journal of newspapering. Articles, profiles, commentary, legislation, and news items of note for newspaper and magazine executives and managers, advertising agencies and public relations.