LibGuides: Humanities Research: Articles & Journals

Scholarly Articles

All the databases listed here may be found at the library website, or the BLink library tab in the Broad Coverage/Multidisciplinary category of Databases & Sources by Subject

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
All scholarly, all full text, up to a period averaging about 3-5 years prior to the present date. Multidisciplinary. Heavy on the humanities.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Covers books and over 650 international journals in religion and related fields--biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary database with lots of full text. Contains both scholarly and popular material. Limit to peer reviewed, if that's what you need.

Getting the most out of JSTOR

JSTOR is a good place to find full text peer reviewed (AKA “scholarly,” “academic”) articles on a wide variety of subjects. Here are some tips for using it most effectively:

Click on the Advanced Search option from the initial search screen
Click to View Full Size
Click on the "articles" box in the section identifying item types--this weeds out book reviews, letters, etc. from your results
Select only the relevant subjects among those listed, such as "history" and "religion"
Click to View Full Size

I have a citation--How do I find the article?

The most efficient way is to use one of the following:

Journal Title Search
Citation Linker

The Journal Title Search tells you if we subscribe to a journal, and which databases have it.

The Citation Linker asks you to enter citation information and tries to link you to a full text copy of an article, if one is available.