Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is RefWorks?
A web-based citation and bibliography manager that allows you to create your own personal database of references/citations by importing them from online indexes/databases or text files.
- Each person needs to set up an individual account to use it
- Click on the Account Set-up tab for more information
Pop-ups Heads Up!
RefWorks makes use of pop-ups for some of its functions.
Therefore, you will need to either:
- Tell your browser to allow pop-ups from www.refworks.com
- Disable your pop-up blocker while you are using RefWorks
RefWorks has a new version!
ATTENTION: The Bethel Libraries will be switching
to the new RefWorks on June 1st!
You are encouraged to transition to the new RefWorks at your earliest convenience.
Check out the new RefWorks instructional guide for assistance!
How do I access RefWorks?
Here are a couple of ways to access RefWorks:
- Via this link:
- Via the Bethel Libraries web page
- Library Accounts > RefWorks > Log in to RefWorks
- Find Something Specific > Citing > RefWorks logo
What are the advantages of using RefWorks?
- It keeps your research more organized by allowing you to store in one place all of the citations you have gathered from various online indexes/databases
- It provides links back to articles that are full-text in one of the online indexes/databases to which the Bethel Libraries subscribe
- It allows you to attach PDFs of articles to the citations stored in RefWorks
(Great way to store articles requested from other libraries through interlibrary loan!)
- It allows you to create bibliographies/reference lists in a selected citation style (e.g., APA)
- If you use the companion program, Write-N-Cite, it will format your in-text citations as well as your reference list
NOTE: Although RefWorks is a great program, it is not perfect. Therefore, when using RefWorks to create a bibliography/reference list, be aware that some editing may be needed after it has been saved as a Word document.
Questions about this guide?
Research & Instruction Librarian
Bethel University Library