HIS350 Modern America Research Guide

Primary resources thematically organized with notes and discussion questions. Historical documents, literary texts, and works of art.

This collection of life histories consists of approximately 2,900 documents, compiled and transcribed by more than 300 writers from 24 states, working on the Folklore Project of the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program that was part of the U.S. Works Progress (later Work Projects) Administration (WPA) from 1936 to 1940. Typically 2,000-15,000 words in length, the documents vary in form from narratives to dialogues to reports to case histories. They chronicle vivid life stories of Americans who lived at the turn of the century.

Digitized collections of primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more millions of digital items from several hundred of the Library of Congress' historical collections.

The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contain 73,398 documents related to the study of the Presidency.

Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. Developed and maintained by University of Texas at Tyler.

Provides digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Organized by time period. From the Yale Law Library.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Offers a broad range of historical documents on important authors and subjects in World War I research. Written by historians and experts in the field, this resource examines a wide array of primary source documents with an in-depth critical analysis.

Provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes.

First hand accounts of events throughout the history of the world. Image rich.

A Project of the Smithsonian Institution Libraries. Features links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials.

Online sources divided into United States and World History

ensus data from 1790 to present

Digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) (a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC)).

Provides access to historical Minnesota newspapers. Search by topic or map, or browse by title, county, city/town, or date.