Index to and growing database of 5000+ full text, audio and video (streaming) versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two. Developed and maintained by University of Texas at Tyler.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.
This Master Academic collection offers full-length, curriculum-focused, streaming videos grouped into prearranged subject-specific categories. Unlimited access and use from any location.
Kanopy has more than 26,000 films in its collection - including leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources - on every topic imaginable.
Kanopy Changes: Due to rising costs, we need to prioritize curricular over recreational use of this collection. If you find that a video you want is not immediately accessible, please fill out the form provided to express your interest. Someone will be in touch with you shortly to gather additional information.
You can easily share films, create clips or teaching playlists, and embed them into the course system. Most films have closed captions and transcripts.
Examples of Videos Available in or via the BU Library
This program explores the global experiences that created the African-American people. Beginning a century before the first documented "20-and-odd" slaves who arrived at Jamestown, Virginia, the episode portrays the earliest Africans, slave and free, who arrived on these shores. The transatlantic slave trade soon became a vast empire connecting three continents. Through stories of individuals caught in its web, the episode traces the emergence of plantation slavery in the American South and examines what the late 18th-century era of revolutions-American, French and Haitian-would mean for African Americans and slavery in America? (60 minutes)
In an investigation of the transatlantic slave trade, this program travels from the "Door of No Return" in the House of Slaves on Goree Island off the coast of Dakar, Senegal, to the village of Jufurreh on the Gambia River via interviews, slave narratives, and dramatization. Distributed by PBS Distribution. (58 minutes)
Written by ex-slave Equiano, the autobiography vividly described the horrors of being kidnapped from Africa, the Middle Passage, and life in captivity, and fueled the growing abolitionist movement. This program employs dramatic reconstructions of this slave narrative, archival material, and interviews with scholars such as Stuart Hall and Ian Duffield to explain the social and economic context of the 18th-century slave trade. (28 minutes)
The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World. A project of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and the Digital Media Lab at the University of Virginia Library.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.
Presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds. Contains images, texts, and maps. From the New York Public Library.
Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Images from the Library of Congress collection, including photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
The Black Atlantic (1500-1800) (The African Americans: Many Rivers to Cross)
Dark Passages