Skip to main content

Bethel University Library

Forensic Psychology: Find Articles

Selected resources for research related to forensic psychology

How do I get a copy of an article that's in a journal to which the BU Library does NOT subscribe?

Try requesting it from another library via ILLiad (Bethel's interlibrary loan program)

  1. Login to ILLiad using your Bethel username and password (The first time you login to ILLiad you will need to set up your account)
  2. Click on Request an Article
  3. Fill out the interlibrary loan form
  4. Click on Submit

You will be notified via email when the article is available for electronic pick-up

                                                         

What About Wikipedia?

This free online encyclopedia allows users to view, edit, or create entire articles. Sometimes it's good, sometimes not, but it's rarely the same thing twice. Credibility varies wildly.

7 Things You Should Know About Wikipedia

Alternatives to Wikipedia:

Britannica Online
Citizendium
Credo Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Oxford Reference Online

Article Databases

All the databases listed here may be found at the library website, or the BLink library tab in the Psychology & Counseling and Nursing, Health & Medicine categories of Databases & Sources by Subject. There are many more, but these are the top recommendations.

Search Tips

You've got your research question; now it's time for effective searching. Try these tips:

  • Brainstorm a variety of keywords (child, adolescent, minor)
  • Connect keywords with and (memory AND testimony AND children)
  • Use quotes to search for a phrase ("false memory")
  • Use or to search synonyms (child OR adolescent OR minor)
  • Search by keywords, not sentences ( "forensic interviews" and "best practices"  instead of what are best practices for forensic interviewing?)
  • Use * to get different endings of a root word (child* finds child and children)
  • Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic

What is an empirical research article?

A scholarly article in which the authors themselves have conducted the research described in the article.

How do I limit a search to empirical research articles?

Many online indexes/databases don't provide a specific limiting feature for this.  Therefore, try limiting your search by adding one or more of these words to your search: (research or study or empirical or qualitative or quantitative)

Google Scholar

In addition to our scholarly database subscriptions, you might try Google Scholar.

To see links to subscriptions you have access to through Bethel. click on Scholar Preferences in the upper right corner of the GS search page. Then look for the Library Links section, where you can search for Bethel University Library and select it as your affiliate library. After that, you'll see links to full text @ your library in your search results.

Google Scholar Search