LibGuides: Art: Images

Web Resources

Note copyright restrictions may vary with each site. You are responsible to know their permissions and restrictions.

American Memory
Free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Most of the American Memory collections have been migrated to new presentations.
The full list of all digitized collections at the Library of Congress can be found at The Library of Congress Digital Collections (https://www.loc.gov/collections/).
Art Images for College Teaching
Maintained and distributed under the general auspices of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design.
Getty Images
Includes broadest collections of imagery and footage - including award-winning news, sport and entertainment content, plus rare and contemporary archival imagery.
Life Magazine
In conjunction with GettyImages, Life has made millions of images available for free.
Minnesota Reflections
Images, maps and documents from more than 150 of the state's cultural heritage organizations. A project of the Minnesota Digital Library.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Open access to 900,000+ images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Open Access at the MET
More than 375,000 images of art works available under Creative Commons Zero through an Open Access policy.
Open content Program - The Getty
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
Prints & Photographs
Access to half of the Library of Congress image holdings.
Science Service Historical Image Collection
Represents twentieth-century scientific research consisting of images and original captions as they appeared in period publications.
more...less...
The captions were written by Science Service journalists and have been transcribed exactly. We are providing a 40-year random sample of innovation and invention; which is specific to the subject of electricity.
Sistine Chapel viewer
Interactive site that lets you zoom in on every part in great detail! You need Adobe Flash player to view.
VADS - Online Resource for Visual Arts
VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA).