LibGuides: Business & Economics: Marketing

Marketing Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
In addition to a wealth of information about companies and industries, includes market research reports. Try searching on your company or industry while including words like "market share."
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes a wealth of articles and news about industries and companies, but also includes market research reports and company profiles.
MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new window
MarketResearch.com Academic reports help executives, managers, and entrepreneurs drive strategies in both major industries and niche markets, providing primary research and expert analysis including: industry interviews, competitive analysis, market trends, product innovations, buyer behavior, and market share.

Consumer Behavior

Note that only some of the information available in the sites below is freely available.

Claritas PRIZM Segments
Claritas is a data-driven marketing company. It provides some free info such as their set of U.S. geo-demographic segments with demographics, consumer behavior and geographic data for marketers. You can view segments by lifestage group or social group.
Esri Location Data
Esri provides GIS data. Scroll to the "Discover the power of data section." Type in a zip code, and you'll find information about the neighborhood, including common behaviors, spending habits, disposable income, and spending on apparel.

Demographics

American Community Survey (ACS) (U.S. Census Bureau)
Premier source for detailed information about the American people and workforce
Census Reporter
An independent project to make data from the American Community Survey (ACS) easier to use. We are unaffiliated with the U.S. Census Bureau. In general, the data is from the most recently released American Community Survey (ACS).
Consumer Expenditure Survey
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Census Data
A searchable database for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Metropolitan Council Community Profiles
Access key information and trends about the Twin Cities region (7-county area) or any city, county or township, including charts and data on population, employment, income and poverty, housing, commuting, land use and development.
Metropolitan Council Data + Maps
Includes access to data on construction, economy, housing, population, transportation, employment, land use, etc.
Minnesota State Demographic Center
The main provider of demographic data and analysis for the state of Minnesota. The SDC assists with locating and understanding demographic data.

Polling & Public Opinion

Gallup
Gallup does polling research on a variety of topics all around the world.
Harris Poll
Founded in 1956, The Harris Poll is one of the longest running surveys in the U.S. tracking public opinion, motivations, and social sentiments. Every year, we poll millions of people on the trends that are shaping our modern world.
Pew Research Center
Numbers, facts, and trends shaping your world
Public Agenda Online
A public opinion research and public engagement organization that works to strengthen our democracy's capacity to tackle tough public policy issues. Its efforts are focused on ensuring that the public's views are represented in decision-making.
YouGov
YouGov is an international research data and analytics group headquartered in London.
Our data-led offering supports and improves a wide spectrum of marketing activities of a customer base including media owners, brands and media agencies.

Advertising Age
Magazine on demographics and marketing, especially strong on consumer trends.
American Marketing Association
Provides information about its publications, best practices, case studies, webcasts, articles and reports, etc. Includes a marketing services directory, a dictionary of marketing terms, and practitioner and academic resources.
Creativity
Offers subscribers a growing database of the best creative work in the industry, breaking news from the advertising and commercials production industries, plus features and insights from the editorial staff of Creativity.
KnowThis.com
A web resource that is committed to providing unbiased, objective information that will offer valuable tools for business professionals, academics, and students of marketing and related fields