LibGuides: Philosophy Research: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

All the databases listed here may be found at the library website, or the BLink library tab in the Philsophy or Broad Coverage categories of Find Database by Subject.

Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Covers philosophy and related inter-disciplinary fields, such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics. Includes the philosophy of disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Covers books and over 650 international journals in religion and related fields--biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
All scholarly, all full text, up to a period averaging about 3-5 years prior to the present date. Multidisciplinary. Heavy on the humanities.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Much like JSTOR, but with coverage for most recent years. Again, all scholarly, all full text. Multidisciplinary. Heavy on the humanities.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary database with lots of full text. Contains both scholarly and popular material. You can easily limit to peer reviewed.

Search Tips

You've got your research question; now it's time for effective searching. Try these tips:

Brainstorm a variety of keywords derived from your question (happiness, self knowledge, relationship)

Connect keywords with and (happiness and self knowledge and relationship)

Use quotes to search for a phrase ("categorical imperative")

Use or to search synonyms (happiness or well being or satisfaction)

Search by keywords, not sentences (liberty and society and individual instead of what are the limits of individual liberty in a well ordered society?)

Use * to get different endings of a root word (ethic* finds ethic, ethics, ethical, etc.)

Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic

I have a citation--How do I find the article?

The most efficient way is to use one of the following:

Journal Title Search
Citation Linker

The Journal Title Search tells you if we subscribe to a journal, and which databases have it.

The Citation Linker asks you to enter citation information and tries to link you to a full text copy of an article, if one is available.