Skip to Main Content

HIS310 Near Eastern and Greek Civilizations Research Guide

Quick access to the resources and tools you will need to conduct effective research on the ancient history in Mesopotamia, Egypt, and Greece from ca. 3500 to 300 BCE

Examples of Books in the BU Library

Alexander the Great and His Empire: A Short Introduction
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938.07 A375b 2010
Ancient Greece: A History in Eleven Cities
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 C327a 2009
Ancient Mesopotamia: The Eden That Never Was
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 935 P7773a 1999
The Ancient Near East
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 939.4 L7784a 2014
Ancient Near East, c. 3000-330 BC
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 939.4 K9622a 1997 Vol. 1-2
The Ancient Near East: A Very Short Introduction
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 939.4 P7421a 2014
The Cambridge Companion to Archaic Greece
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 C1782 2007
A Companion to the Classical Greek World
Call Number: BU Library 938 C73714 2006
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 305.4093 C73714 2012
Daily Life in Ancient Mesopotamia
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 935 N433d 2002
The Edinburgh Companion to Ancient Greece and Rome
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 E235 2006
Greek History: the Basics
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 O817g 2014
Greeks and Barbarians
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 V867g 2013
A History of the Classical Greek World: 478-323 B.C.
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 R477h 2006
Life in the Ancient Near East, 3100-332 B.C.E.
Call Number: BU Library 956 S671L
The Orientalizing Revolution: Near Eastern Influence on Greek Culture in the Early Archaic Age
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938 B959o
Performance Culture and Athenian Democracy
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 938.5 P438
Religions of the Ancient Near East
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 200.9394 S671r 2011
Writing on the Tablet of the Heart: Origins of Scripture and Literature
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 221.66 C3113w 2005

Examples of eBooks

Loeb Classical Library

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of the well-known Loeb Classical Library series. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available. . .allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Google Book Search

Search the web for eBooks.

You may be able to view entire books or just portions of books.