*Getting Started at Bethel University Library

What is a database?  Why use one?

Library databases are collections of articles, abstracts, and/or citations. Sometimes these databases have a specific discipline focus, like education or chemistry. Other databases like Academic Source Premier have scholarly content from nearly all academic areas of study.  

Using databases is a great way to find scholarly or peer-reviewed articles to help you in your research. The articles in the library databases are free to you either because we have access to them through a subscription or because we can get them from another library through a process called interlibrary loan. Using carefully chosen keywords and limiting your search by resource type (like peer-reviewed journals), publication date, and/or subject can provide you with a good set of results to start your research journey.

To find the best databases for a specific subject, use the drop-down on the main library homepage. 

To find a specific database, search by name on the main library homepage. 

How do I choose keywords?

Identifying the right keywords or search terms can help you access the right resources more quickly. First, identify the key concepts in your research question. 

Then, begin making a list of possible keywords before beginning your research. Below are a few suggestions to help you brainstorm:

• Synonyms for the concepts you want to research
• Broader and/or narrower terms for your subject
• Alternative viewpoints about your topic 

Below you will see an example of how this process might work.

Research Question: What are the most effective methods of improving the quality of cross-cultural communication in the workplace?

Identify key concepts:  Communication / Cross-cultural / Workplace

Once you have a list of keywords, consider how you might combine them when searching. 

What else should I know when searching?

• Use filters or limiters (usually on the left-hand side or across the top of a database) to help narrow down your results. Choosing a specific resource type, publication date range, subject, or language can help you get the results that are most likely to benefit your research. You can also limit your search results to content from only peer-reviewed journals.
• If you find an article that seems promising, read the abstract & skim the introduction and conclusion before downloading.
• Use the sources cited or the bibliography of a promising resource to find more articles about your topic.
• If a specific journal title keeps popping up, consider doing a journal title search to see what other related articles are being published.  
• Consider finding 20% more articles than the minimum requirement. Once you start reading your articles in more detail, you will be glad to have alternatives or additions..

Learn more about advanced searching