Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Try these tips:
- Brainstorm a variety of keywords (poverty, low-income, income level, social class)
- To Narrow search: Connect keywords with and (poverty and education and achievement)
- Use quotes to search for a phrase ("social inequality")
- To Broaden search: Use or to search synonyms (poverty or low-income and education)
- Search by keywords, not sentences (poverty and "secondary education" and achievement instead of effect of poverty on high school students)
- Use * to get different endings of a root word (school* searches for school, schools, schooling)
- Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic
The library has access to several medical databases. See the description of each to further direct your research.
Databases - Medical
A large research database for nursing and allied health literature. Lots of full text, cited reference lists, author affiliation info, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
PubMed, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, contains over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals. Coverage goes back to the 1950s. PubMed also includes links to full-text articles and MeSH subject headings.
A searchable electronic database containing detailed summaries of publications about older adults and aging, including books, journal and magazine articles, research reports, and videos.
Scopus offers broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, including 100% Medline title coverage.
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Published by the APA.
Science Direct is one of the largest collections (2 million articles and 40 million abstracts) of science, technology, and medical information.
Databases - Other
Indexes articles (EJ#) and documents (ED#) on all topics related to education. Most documents from 1996 to the present are available online. Start here first for all your education related research.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier aims specifically at business schools and libraries, containing 2,966 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database that provides full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study--including the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and languages, including articles, theses, books, and abstracts.
If the journal does not appear in this search or the available date range does not match the date you need, request the item via ILLiad.