Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Social Work 351: Older Adults: Find Articles

Contact the Library

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches many disciplines and sources, from peer-reviewed papers to theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Full-text @ My Library will link to the article when available from the Bethel University Library.

Core Databases

Social Services Abstracts is your first stop and main resource for scholarly/academic journal articles related to Social Work. It will be a key to your success in your program so take time to learn how to use it well.

Sociological Abstracts covers not only sociology but broader related social and behavioral sciences.

 

Older Adult Resources

AgeLine: Created by AARP and includes references to article, books, research reports.

AgeLine
Limit Your Results

Psychology & Related Social Sciences Databases

  • Academic Search Premier: Broad coverage of  primarily academic articles across broad subject disciplines
  • EBSCO Megafile: Broadly covers academic, professional and popular literature
  • ERIC: Articles & documents related to education
  • Family & Society Studies: Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare.
  • PsychInfo: psychology, medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, sociology, and organizational behavior

Social Services Databases
  • Limit Your Results

Subject Guide

Karen Dubay
Contact:
651-638-6479

Search Tips

You've got your research question; now it's time for effective searching. Try these tips:

  • Brainstorm a variety of keywords (poverty, low-income, income level, social class)
  • To Narrow search: Connect keywords with and (poverty and education and achievement)
  • Use quotes to search for a phrase ("social inequality")
  • To Broaden search: Use or to search synonyms (poverty or low-income and education)
  • Search by keywords, not sentences (poverty and "secondary education" and achievement instead of effect of poverty on high school students)
  • Use * to get different endings of a root word (school* searches for school, schools, schooling)
  • Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic