Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Doctor of Ministry: Books

Databases and Resources for Doctor of Ministry Students

Which Tool Should I Use?

There are several research tools available to help you in your research. Your research question will help to determine which tool is right for your project.




  • Summon is useful for identifying material available in the Bethel Libraries, including
    • Print books and ebooks
    • Journal articles (print and online)
    • Videos (DVD and online)
  • Please note: At the present, articles from the EBSCOhost databases (ATLA Religion Database, PsycINFO, Family and Society Studies Worldwide, Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier) are not available in Summon. We recommend that you search the specific databases for articles.

WorldCat Discovery



  • WorldCat Discovery allows you to search for books in the Bethel Libraries as well as libraries all over the world.
  • WorldCat offers an easy way to obtain books. You can use  the "Place Hold" button to get books that are available at Bethel or another CLICnet library or use the "Request Item" button to get books that are available in other libraries.

Google Books

Google Books

  • Google Books provides access to a wide variety of books.
  • Click on a book title and you'll see basic info about the book just like you'd see in a card catalog.
  • If a publisher or author has given permission, you'll see a full page and be able to browse within the book to see more pages.
  • If the book is out of copyright, you'll see a full page and you can page forward or back to see the full book. Clicking on Search within this book allows you to perform more searches within the book you've selected.
  • You can click on the Buy eBook button to buy a book from the Google Play store.
  • In many cases, you can also click Find this book in a library to find a local library where you can borrow it.

(Information from

Interlibrary Loan

Bethel Seminary Library offers interlibrary loan (ILL) services to current students, faculty, and staff in order to provide access to materials for research and study which are not available in CLICnet. Click here for more information on using interlibrary loan.

Using RefWorks


RefWorks Logo

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. You can use these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography.

Login to RefWorks

Guide to using RefWorks (Old Version)

Guide to using RefWorks (New Version)

Reference Librarian

Tim Senapatiratne
Seminary Library
Website / Blog Page

Ask the Librarian