LibGuides: Business & Leadership Research Guide (CAPS & GS): Marketing / Advertising

Selected Journal Databases

ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
Designed to help business researchers balance theoretical and practical learning, and acquire the research skills that will make them successful in their courses and careers, ProQuest One Business is a complete business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Premier aims specifically at business schools and libraries, containing 2,966 full text scholarly journals and business periodicals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and much more. Business Source Premier contains full text from the world's top business journals and is particularly strong in both management and marketing.
EBSCO MegaFILE This link opens in a new window
The EBSCO MegaFILE covers a wide range of academic disciplines, with some information dating back to the 1800s. The MegaFILE indexes articles in magazines, journals, and newspapers, as well as some books and primary source documents. It also provides full text for nearly 12,000 publications and contains more than 84,000 biographies; 86,000 primary source documents; 10,000 company profiles; and an image collection of more than 107,000 photos, maps, and flags.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Published by the APA.
ProQuest Psychology Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 900 top psychology and related publications. Most full text.

Examples of eBooks available via the BU Library:

Examples of Print Books in the BU Library:

Communications Writing and Design: The Integrated Manual for Marketing, Advertising, and Public Relations by John DiMarco
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 303.4833 D5822c 2017
Honorable Influence: A Christian's Guide to Faithful Marketing by David Hagenbuch
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 658.8 H143h 2016
Transcultural Marketing: Building customer Relationships in Multicultural America by Marye Tharp
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 658.81208 T3676t 2014

Examples of eBooks available via the BU Library:

Examples of Print Books in the BU Library:

Advertising, Promotion, and Other Aspects of Integrated Marketing Communications
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 658.802 S5565a 2013
Communications Writing and Design: The Integrated Manual for Marketing, Advertising, and Public Relations by John DiMarco
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 303.4833 D5822c 2017
The Definitive Book of Branding
Call Number: BU Library Main Collection 658.827 D3139 2014
Strategic Writing: Multimedia Writing for Public Relations, Advertising and More
Call Number: BU Library Reference Collection 808.06665 M3654s 2018

Selected Websites

AdForum
Portal to the global advertising, marketing and communications industry, with direct links to agencies. Searchable database of ads. NOTE: Some services require registration or payment.
Adstra
Adstra maximizes value by ORCHESTRATING data across media and technology, in ways that drive customers’ success
Agency Compile
Website for marketers looking to stay current on the agency landscape and a place for agencies to share their latest creative, clients, news and more. NOTE: Free registration required.
American Marketing Association
Provides information about its publications, best practices, case studies, webcasts, articles and reports, etc. Includes a marketing services directory, a dictionary of marketing terms, and practitioner and academic resources.
Association of National Advertisers (ANA)
ANA mission is to drive growth for marketing professionals, for brands and businesses, for the industry, and for humanity. Provides access to resources that help drive professional and brand growth.
BBB Business Partner Code of Conduct
This self-regulation guide from the Better Business Bureau aims to help business increase consumer trust in advertising
brandchannel
A Webby Award-winning website about all things branding. Offers original news, commentary, and analysis from their journalists along with outside contributions, white papers, job openings, and more. Provides a global perspective on brands.
ClickZ
Provides insight and analysis on the latest trends, tools and technology in digital marketing and advertising
Curlture Marketing Council
The Culture Marketing Council: The Voice of Hispanic Marketing is the only national trade organization representing the entire Hispanic marketing, communications and media industry.
DMN
Leading provider of digital and data-driven marketing analysis, research, and content. They publish long-form articles around topics that matter like omnichannel marketing, the role of analytics in strategy, and how to best reach customers. They curate content from external sources, publish news roundups and explainers around lesser-known emerging topics like machine learning and middleware.
Federal Trade Commission: Consumer Information
The FTC deals with issues (such as advertising, sales, and shipping) that touch the economic lives of most Americans and many American businesses. This collection of documents can be used to investigate advertising guidelines, marketing rules, and e-commerce requirements.
KnowThis.com
A leading information and resource website for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas.
Magazine Publishers of America
Includes a section on Indy Publishers, numerous research reports, and an association membership directory, all focused on the magazine publishing industry
MarketingCharts
This site pulls market research charts and graphs from various reports and press releases. Primarily focused on the marketing, advertising, and publishing industries. TIP: Mouse over the "By Topic" menu.
MarketingProfs
Offers real-world education for modern marketers through training, best practices, research and other content. Provides strategic and tactical marketing know-how to marketing professionals through a combination of articles and commentary. Draws on the expertise of a broad array of analysts, marketing professionals, and professors who bridge the gap between theory and business practice.
Moz
List of every website statistics publicly available to marketers and researchers.
Newscom
Provides high-quality images, video and other supplemental content from a vast array of global sources. One-stop access to more than 70 million photos, graphics, illustrations and text stories from nearly 200 of the world's top publishers and content creators in the multimedia industry.
NewsLink -- Most-Linked-To Local News Sites by U.S. State
Listing of the most linked-to local news sites in the U.S. by type. Types include newspapers and radio and television stations.
NewsLink -- Radio and Television
Use this resource to identify radio and television stations. You can search by state, station, format, and network.
NewsLink -- U.S. Newspapers by State
Use this resource to identify U.S. newspapers. You can search by location (e.g., city, state, national, etc.) or service type (e.g., metro, daily, business, alternative, specialty, etc.).
Nielsen Topline Ratings for Subscribing Radio Stations
Provides information regarding how subscribing radio stations in various markets are performing
Online Newspapers in all Countries in the World
List of the most important online newspapers and other news sources in all countries in the world. All the newspapers focus on general news, politics, debate and economy and they are free to access online. The newspapers are chosen in order to give journalists, researchers, and others an overview of how the national media edit current topics.
Practical Ecommerce - Marketing
Provides down-to-earth articles and commentary to help ecommerce businesses. Authors are leading ecommerce practitioners, consultants, and journalists.
Radio-Locator
Provides links to over 15,000 radio stations' web pages and over 10,200 stations' audio streams from radio stations in the U.S. and around the world. Users can search by location, call letters, format, and more.
Radio Advertising Bureau
The not-for-profit trade association representing America's broadcast Radio industry. They provide tools and resources to help the industry attract new sales talent to the medium and enhance industry professionalism through training and support.
Search Engine Watch
Provides tips and information about searching the web, analysis of the search engine industry and help to site owners trying to improve their ability to be found in search engines.
Television Bureau of Advertising -- Research
The Television Bureau of Advertising is the not-for-profit trade association of America’s broadcast television industry. Its Research web page is a one-stop source for relevant and timely audience analyses. Access the latest broadcast, cable and syndication ratings comparisons, and learn more about noteworthy consumer and viewer trends. Advertising Revenue and Forecast data can also be accessed via the Research web page.
Trade Show News Network
The world's leading news and online resource for the trade show, exhibition and event industry since 1996.