On the library website under Research Databases, choose Human Kinetics (yellow highlight).
Suggested databases are linked but if you want to use one not on the list, use the A-Z links in blue boxes. Still not sure which database to use? click on the MORE link to bring you to a complete list of recommended databases for HAS.
There are three that are highlighted that are you options for getting started:
Scopus offers broad coverage of scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature, including Medline titles.
When you start a search in Scopus, remember you can use search strategies to enhance your results:
In the above example, terms linked with AND will narrow your search. Using OR will broaden your results, and NOT will exclude terms to focus your search. Limiting to the last 10 years is shown by the Date Range
.
In the above example, the default of sorting by newest first was changed to RELEVANCE as shown by the yellow highlight so the best of the search results are at the top of the search. Make note of the "cited by" numbers on the right. The higher number means that is how many times this article was cited in another authors works. Higher numbers generally mean more significance.
Within a citation and abstract, see the "Cited by" links on the right and the "Related Documents" listed under it to deepen your research. You can also send a citation to RefWorks by using the "Export" link above the title.
Finding full text? Click on the "Find It" icon in the top left. From there you will be directed to CLICsearch for a full text link to another database or to request via Illiad, our interlibrary loan product.
A detailed guide for using Scopus is available to demonstrate how to use this powerful source for research needs.
Here's further information on how to use Cited by in Scopus that can be very useful. See this example of research from 2016
The number of cites indicates other articles and research that used this research and it is cited on their reference list. This example has 44 Cited by documents, a fairly high number for an article/research only five years old. This can indicate significance and should be of interest to the researcher (you).
Citied by also can take older research from ten years ago and bring it into the present. For example, in the above article, even though it is not very old, the 44 documents that used this research are all newer, some even published this year. That brings older research into the present just by using the Cited By feature.
Scopus has Related Documents feature. In the following search, there were no Cited by references but look at the Related Documents list:
If you go to View all related documents, you will have thousands to choose from. Limit the years and you can find current research on this topic.
You can further refine your search by looking within the list for a specific term using the Search within results feature. In the above example we looked for articles with Yoga and found several that might be used in our research.
