LibGuides: World Religions: Reference

What is "Reference" and What is it Good For?

Reference books are not intended to be read cover to cover. They're to be consulted for background, context, definition and outline, and they usually include brief but excellent bibliographies that point you to further research on the subject.

They're a great place to get quick info, or to get a basic grounding in something with which you may not be overly familiar.

We have many print reference books, but increasingly we're acquiring reference e-books that you can use from whereever you have internet connections.

NOTE: Most of Bethel's print reference books may be checked out for short periods.

What About Wikipedia?

This free online encyclopedia allows users to view, edit, or create entire articles. Sometimes it's good, sometimes not, but it's rarely the same thing twice. Credibility varies wildly.

7 Things You Should Know About Wikipedia

Alternatives to Wikipedia:

E Reference

Listed below are links to reference sources available electronically, as well as links to Credo, the Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Oxford Reference Online, three of our larger online reference collections.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philsophy
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Religion
A collection of subject dictionaries and encyclopedias related to world religions.
Credo Reference
Contains hundreds of reference titles--encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, guides, etc. Covers virtually every subject.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The electronic version (print version featured to the right) of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, it explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (2004)
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Encyclopaedia Judaica (2nd ed.)
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
This 15 volume, second edition features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more.
Islamic Philosophy from its Origin to the Present
Blackwell Companion to Philosophy of Religion

Selected Print Reference

These are just a few examples of many print volumes we have in our library.Some of these are on the main floor of the library in our reference collection ("Ref" will precede the call number), and some are in the main collection, with our usual checkout period of 6 weeks.

Encyclopedia of Religion
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 203 E5646 2005 (15 vol)
The Islamic World
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 297 I825 2005 (3 vol)
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 296.03 N53222 2002
A Concise Encyclopedia of Buddhism
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 294.303 P8884c 2000
Historical Dictionary of Hinduism
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 294.5 L8488h 2011
The Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: (BUL Ref) 203 F157e 1999 (5 vol)
Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Religion
Call Number: (BUL Main) 210 R8696 2013
The Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies
Call Number: (BUL Main) 296.071 O984 2002