Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Bethel Seminary St. Paul Library : A Brief Guide for Seminary Students

General Information

  1. As a courtesy to others, please do not use cell phones in the library.
  2. Please do not bring food into the library.
  3. Covered beverages are permitted.
  4. Wireless service is available in the entire main building and on the main floor of the addition.

Collection Information

Bethel Seminary’s catalog is WorldCat.  The catalog and other library resources may be accessed through the library homepage at www.bethel.edu/library.

The Reference Collection is on the first floor of the main building.  Reference materials may be used in the library but cannot be checked out.

The Circulating Book collection is housed on the first floor of the main building and all three floors of the addition.

Periodicals are housed in alphabetical order on the upper floor of main building. Periodicals do not circulate outside of the library.

In addition to our physical collections we also have an extensive online collection of both books (12,000+) and journals (16,000+ subscriptions).  The easiest access to these materials is through the databases links at: www.bethel.edu/library.

 Special collections housed on the library include the Nelson/Lundquist/ Prinzing Devotional Collection of nearly 3,000 devotional books, the Klingberg Puritan Collection and Pilgrim’s Progress Collection collected by Johan Eric Klingberg and Haddon Klingberg, and the History Center of the Baptist General Conference.  Use of the History Center is by appointment only.

Bethel Seminary Library is a member of two consortia. The library belongs to the Minnesota Theological Library Association (MTLA) which includes the libraries of Luther Seminary, St. Paul Seminary, and United Theological Seminary and the Cooperating Libraries in Consortium (CLIC) which includes seven Twin Cities private college libraries.

Borrowing Information

All material taken out of the library must be checked out at the circulation desk.  Students must present their Bethel ID card in order to check out any library material, including reserve material.

Material may be renewed twice provided no one else has requested it.  The library reserves the right to recall a book that has been renewed if someone else requests it.

There is a book return slot located in the hallway north of the library entrance which may be used after hours.  When the seminary buildings are closed, material may be returned in the mail slot located on the north side of the library building.

Circulation periods:

            Books:  6 weeks

            CDs/DVDs/Videos:  2 – 3 weeks

            Periodicals:  Non-circulating

            Reference materials:  Non-circulating

Fines:

            2-hour reserve material:   25¢/hour/item

            2-day reserve material:  25¢/day/item

            Billed material:  $65/item

Failure to receive an overdue notice does not exempt you from fines charged.

Requests:

If an item is currently checked out, you may request to have it held for you when it is returned through our CLICnet catalog. You will be notified when the item is returned.