Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

BIO399/ENS399: National Biological Information Infrastructure

National Biological Information Infrastructure Closure

Cuts in the 2012 Federal Budget forced this site to close for good on September 30, 2012.  The termination information will be hosted on the United States Geological Survey Frequently Asked Questions site.  The list of resources that were  transferred to another partner or completely shut down is preserved here.

Partner or USGS Supported

Databases & Web Sites

Art Shapiro's Butterfly Site University of California, Davis
BAMONA (Butterflies and Moths of North America) Montana State University
Best Sustainability Practices in Southern Appalachia Hosting partner to be determined
Big Bend T&E Species Houston Advanced Research Center
Big Sky Carbon Atlas Montana State University
Biocomplexity Thesaurus University of California, Davis
Biological Inventories of the World's Protected Areas USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
BLM Density Management and Riparian Buffer Study Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
California Ecoregion Browser University of California, Davis
Census of Coral Reef Ecosystems University of Hawaii, Maui
Children's Butterfly Website Montana State University
CRISISCat (California Regional Invasive Species Information System Catalog) University of California, Davis
Central Southwest Gulf Coast Ecoregions Houston Advanced Research Center
David Inouye Pollinator Database
Discover Life 20q Species Identification Guides University of Georgia
Discover Life All Living Things University of Georgia
EcoHealth 101 Website University of Wisconsin
Edwards Spatial Data Houston Advanced Research Center
Fire Research & Management Exchange System (FRAMES) USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
Fish On-line [Idaho] USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
Global Invasive Species Database (GISD) Invasive Species Specialist Group (ISSG), IUCN Species Survival Commission
Global Invasive Species Information Network Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University
Global Organism Detection and Monitoring System Natural Resource Ecology Laboratory, Colorado State University
Great Basin Bibliography USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
Great Basin Image Catalog USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
Hawaii Ecosystems at Risk University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Early Detection Alert System University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Invasive Species Partnership University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii ISC Data Portal University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Offshore Islets Restoration Committee University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii/Pacific Conservation Jobs University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii/Pacific Weed Risk Assessment University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Recovery Plan Management System University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Wetland Information Network University of Hawaii, Maui
HEDDS (Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Early Detection Data System) USGS National Wildlife Health Center
IABIN Invasives Information Network (I3N) USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
IABIN Pollinators Information Network (PTN) USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
IBIS (Interactive Biodiversity Information System) Northwest Habitat Institute
Invasive Plant Atlas of the MidSouth Factsheet Database Mississippi State University Geosystems Research Institute
Inventory of the Mosses, Lichen, and Liverworts of Olympic National Park Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
Library of Images From the Environment (LIFE) USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
Hawaii Sting Operation (Fire Ants) University of Hawaii, Maui
MEAP-IHNV Fish Virus Database Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
MEAP-VHSV Fish Virus Database Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
Metadata Clearinghouse USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis and ORNL
Midwinter Bald Eagle Survey Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
Migratory Bird Data Center U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Natural Resources Monitoring Partnership USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
NISbase Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Ecological Research Center
NOAA Spatial Planning & Permitting System NOAA
Nonindigenous Aquatic Species Alert System USGS Southeast Ecological Science Center
Nonindigenous Aquatic Species Database USGS Southeast Ecological Science Center
Nonindigenous Aquatic Species References Database USGS Southeast Ecological Science Center
Nonindigenous Aquatic Species Report-a-Species USGS Southeast Ecological Science Center
North American Breeding Bird Atlas Explorer USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
North American (North of Mexico) Introduced & Alien Bee Species USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS) - USA USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
Pacific Island Alien Snake Portal University of Hawaii, Maui
PHaCS (Pacific Northwest Habitat Classification Systems) Database Northwest Habitat Institute
Plant Pono University of Hawaii, Maui
Sagebrush Bird Conservation Network Study Areas Database Point Reyes Bird Observatory
Southern California Data Integration Project/Biogeographic Information and Observation System California Department of Fish and Game
Sustainability: Science, Practice & Policy E-journal ProQuest
Tricolored Blackbird Portal University of California, Davis
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Focal Species U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
U.S. Regulatory Agencies Unified Biotechnology Website USGS Core Science Analytics & Synthesis
Very Handy Manual: How to Catch & Identify Bees & Manage a Collection USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Wandering Birds of the Great Basin USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station

Tools & Applications

Bishop Museum General Taxonomy Search Bishop Museum
Cactus Moth Detection & Monitoring Network Map Viewer Mississippi State University GeoResources Institute
California Partners In Flight Interactive Map Point Reyes Bird Observatory
CaprICE Plant Species Distribution Map University of California, Davis
Community Resource Mapper University of Tennessee, Chattanooga
CRISISMaps (California Regional Invasive Species Information System Maps) University of California-Davis
Dichotomous Keys to Bee Genera of Missouri and Eastern North America USGS Patuxent Wildlife Research Center
Discover Life Global Mapper University of Georgia
Discover Life Specimen Label Generator University of Georgia
Global Wildlife Disease News Map University of Wisconsin
Gulf of Mexico Biodiversity Mapping Application Houston Advanced Research Center
Hawaii Biological Occurrence University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Early Detection Network- Invasive Reporting System (EMS) University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii Early Detection Network-Hawaii/Pacific Invasive Species Mapping Service University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaiian Islands Web Mapping Service University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii-Pacific Weed Risk Assessment University of Hawaii, Maui
Hawaii/Pacific Environmental News Service University of Hawaii, Maui
Invasive Plant Atlas of New England (IPANE) Species Mapping Tool CIESIN/Columbia University
Invasive Plant Atlas of the MidSouth Map Viewer Mississippi State University Geosystems Research Institute
Invasive Plant Atlas of the MidSouth Online Reporting System Mississippi State University Geosystems Research Institute
Karst Aquifer Mapping Application - Edwards Aquifer Houston Advanced Research Center
Karst Aquifer Mapping Application - Ozarks Aquifer Houston Advanced Research Center
Karst Aquifer Mapping Application - Roswell Aquifer Houston Advanced Research Center
Lewis & Clark Wildlife-Habitat Discovery Application Northwest Habitat Institute
Marsh Monitoring Database & Mapping Application Houston Advanced Research Center
Maui Nui Community Mapping Service University of Hawaii, Maui
National Map Services University of Hawaii, Maui
Napa Vegetation Map University of California, Davis
NBII/MAPS (Monitoring Avian Productivity & Survivorship) Avian Demographics Query Interface Institute for Bird Populations
Papua New Guinea Virtual Herbarium Web Mapping Service University of Hawaii, Maui
Pollinator Partnership Zip Code Ecoregion Locator University of Wisconsin and Pollinator Partnership
Regional Invasive Species Mashup Houston Advanced Research Center
Sage-grouse Local Working Group Locator USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
SAGEMAP USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
SAGEMAP Science Locator USGS Forest & Rangeland Ecosystems Science Center-Snake River Field Station
SEANET (Seabird Ecological Assessment Network) Web-based Data Entry Application University of Wisconsin
Significant Stream / 303 (d) Mapping Project Houston Advanced Research Center
Texas & Louisiana Coastal Fisheries Mapping Application Houston Advanced Research Center
Texas Coastal Waterbirds Mapping Application Houston Advanced Research Center
Texas Oak Wilt Mapping Application Houston Advanced Research Center
USGS Northern Continental Divide Ecosystem Database (not publicly available) Northwest Alliance for Computational Science & Engineering
WHER (Wildlife Health Event Reporter) University of Wisconsin

Source:
http://www.nbii.gov/termination/ps.html

No Longer Supported

Database & Web Sites:

  1. Annual Tree Ring Database (1406-1999)
  2. Appalachian Trail Related Initiatives
  3. Aquatic Biota Survey Database
  4. Avian Influenza Workshop Website
  5. Bishop Museum Natural Science Database Species Mashup Web Service
  6. Conferences of Interest Database
  7. Cutthroat Trout Bibliography Database Application
  8. David Inouye Pollinator Website
  9. Department of Defense Threatened & Endangered Species Document Repository
  10. Ecological Topics - Bird Conservation Website
  11. Ecological Topics - Fire Ecology & Management Website
  12. Ecological Topics - Genetic Diversity Website
  13. Ecological Topics - Invasive Species Website
  14. Ecological Topics - Pollinators Website
  15. Ecological Topics - Renewable Energy Project Website
  16. Ecological Topics - Threatened & Endangered Species Website
  17. Geographic Perspectives - California Website
  18. Geographic Perspectives - Central Southwest & Gulf Coast Website
  19. Geographic Perspectives - Great Basin Information Project
  20. Geographic Perspectives - International Activities Website
  21. Geographic Perspectives - Mid-Atlantic Website
  22. Geographic Perspectives - Mountain Prairie Website
  23. Geographic Perspectives - Northeast Website
  24. Geographic Perspectives - Pacific Basin Website
  25. Geographic Perspectives - Pacific Northwest Website
  26. Geographic Perspectives - Southeast Website
  27. Geographic Perspectives - Southwest Website
  28. GISIN (Global Invasive Species Information Network)
  29. Global Invasive Species Database (Mirror Site)
  30. Hawaii Natural Heritage Database API
  31. Herpetofauna of the Papuan Region Database Service
  32. Invasive Pest Plants Literature Collection
  33. Invasive Species Early Detection, Rapid Response (EDRR) National Framework
  34. Land Snails of the Southern Appalachians
  35. Marine Habitats Website
  36. National River Restoration Science Synthesis Website & Database
  37. NBII Publications & Community Workshop Reports
  38. Nonindigenous Aquatic Species in Hawaii (NASHI)
  39. North American Reporting Center for Amphibian Malformations Database & Website
  40. NP Lichens: A Database of Lichens in the National Parks
  41. Pacific Area Governmental Assessment Database Service
  42. Pacific Biodiversity Bibliography Service
  43. Pacific Island Fish and Wildlife Office Rare Species Database Species Mashup Web Service
  44. Pacific Northwest Tree Ecophysiology Database
  45. Pacific Protected Areas Database Service
  46. Pacific Region NGO Environmental Activities Monitoring Database Service
  47. Pacific Region Species Observation Database Service
  48. PBIF Image Gallery Site
  49. PBIN Image Gallery
  50. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Amphibians Website
  51. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Botany Website
  52. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Website
  53. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Museum Collections Website
  54. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Reptiles Website
  55. Plants, Animals & Other Organisms - Systematics Website
  56. Regional Invasive Plants
  57. Research Collections Database
  58. Sand Dunes - Colonizers, Competitors, Soil Binders
  59. SAVEM (Southern Appalachian Volunteer Environmental Monitoring) Invasive Plants Database
  60. SAVEM (Southern Appalachian Volunteer Environmental Monitoring) Water Quality Database
  61. Southeast Information Node Projects Database
  62. Whirling Disease Initiative Data Repository

Tools & Applications:

  1. Bird Conservation Data Access Wizard
  2. Bird Data Previewer
  3. Chesapeake Bay Data Mapper
  4. CSA Published Literature RSS
  5. CWDDC (Chronic Wasting Disease Data Clearinghouse)
  6. Delaware River Aquatic Gap
  7. Eastern Brook Trout Joint Venture Mapper
  8. EPIZOO Epizootics Database Viewer
  9. Fisheries Data Access Wizard
  10. Houston Area Water Quality Mapping Application
  11. Hudson River Watershed Mapper
  12. Integrated Wild Bird Surveillance Database
  13. Invasive Plant Dichotomous Key
  14. Little Yellow Creek and Gap Creek Fish Survey Data
  15. MAIN Data Previewer
  16. MidAtlantic Data Access Wizard
  17. Mussel and Amphibian Species (Mashup)
  18. NBII Integrated Search System - Raptor
  19. NBII Partners Toolkit
  20. NBII Search Engine - Raptor
  21. OGC services for Northeast hosted by NBII-NIN
  22. PrairieMap
  23. Rare Land Snails of the Cherokee National Forest PDF Viewer
  24. Southeast Regional GIS Layers
  25. Species Mashups
  26. SWAP (State Wildlife Action Plan) Species Conservation Status
  27. Tennessee State Parks ATBI GIS
  28. Vermont Specimens in GBIF Gadget
  29. West Nile Virus
  30. Wetland and Seagrass Information System
  31. WHMN (Wildlife Health Monitoring Network)
  32. Wildlife Data Integration Network (formerly the Wildlife Disease Information Node)
  33. Wildlife Disease News Digest
  34. Wildlife Disease News Digest References
  35. Yellowstone GIS Data
  36. Whirling Disease Initiative Distribution Maps

Collaboration Support & Services:

  1. Inter-American Biodiversity Information Network U.S. Node Website, Coordination of Information Technology Technical Working Group, and Infrastructure Support
  2. List Serv - Invasive Species Interest Group
  3. List Serv - Wavyleaf Basketgrass Task Force Mid-Atlantic
  4. List Serv - Global Invasive Species Information Network
  5. List Serv - BIO ECO Working Group
  6. List Serv - Encyclopedia of Life North America Project
  7. List Serv - Geospatial Working Group of NBII
  8. List Serv - Geospatial Latin America
  9. List Serv - Global Invasive Species Information Network (GISIN)
  10. List Serv - Herbaria-L
  11. List Serv - IABIN Invasive Species Network (I3N) List
  12. List Serv - IABIN Ecosystems
  13. List Serv - IABIN Focal Points
  14. List Serv - IABIN Friends
  15. List Serv - IABIN Technical Working Group
  16. List Serv - Invasive Species Interest Group of NBII
  17. List Serv - U.S. Virtual Herbarium
  18. List Serv - US Biotechnology
  19. My NBII Collaboration & Document Management Communities for 2,000 Federal & Non-Federal users
  20. NBII Blog
  21. NBII Twitter
  22. NatureServe Grants for data and technical support
  23. University of New Mexico Long-term Ecological Network Metadata Grant
  24. University of California VertNet Grant
  25. University of Kansas Museum Collections Grant
  26. World Data Center for Biodiversity & Ecology