Skip to main content

Bethel Libraries

Communication Studies: Search

Home

This guide is for communication research.

Use simple research steps to get a good quality project finished on time.

Learn about your topic

Start by learning some things about your topic. Reference sources are perfect for this.

Recommended Reference like Wikipedia, but more scholarly.

Databases where the scholarly articles are

 Storing your citations and citing in your paper using RefWorks

 Finding better search words for your topic.

 How to get articles from key communication journals

Books and eBooks ideas that are bigger than a few pages: theory, critique, analysis, background, the rest of the story

Media Law Resources

Use a strategy

Save yourself some trouble with these research tips

Using reference sources to find articles

  • Find a reference entry relevant to your topic
  • Look for a bibliography at the end of the entry
  • Use links if provided, or else search using the main library search on the homepage.
    • Link Provided
    • Search for item
     Communication Encyclopedias

Finding better search words for your topic

  • Find a reference entry relevant to your topic
  • Look for a bibliography at the end of the entry
  • Use links if provided, or else search using the main library search on the homepage.
    • Link Provided
    • Search for item
     Communication Encyclopedias

How to get articles from key communication journals

  • Find a reference entry relevant to your topic
  • Look for a bibliography at the end of the entry
  • Use links if provided, or else search using the main library search on the homepage.
    • Link Provided
    • Search for item
     Communication Encyclopedias

Cite your sources & write well

Use these tips and tools to help you use and cite your sources.

Free Citing Program Collect your search results, install the Word plugin, and cite as you write.

Citing See how to cite the sources you would find using this guide

Citing Reference Sources

This is a placeholder for info that will be added later.

Citing Communication Journals

This is a placeholder for info that will be added later.

Citing Books

This is a placeholder for info that will be added later.

Citing eBooks

This is a placeholder for info that will be added later.

Citing Websites

This is a placeholder for info that will be added later.

Search

Search for Articles

This is one of the largest databases to use to find articles from Communication journals and publications.

Comm. and Mass Media Complete

Comm Journals        Finding Full-text         Evaluating Articles


PsychInfo   

is another great database to use dealing with
psychological aspects of communication.

How do I find the full text of an article?

If the article is full text in the online index/database in which you are searching, you will be able to click on a full text icon to display the article.

           


If the article is NOT full text, click on the Search Bethel Libraries for Full Text link to see if it's full text in another database.

If it is, click on the Article  link to access the full text.

full text available


If you have clicked on the Search Bethel Libraries for Full Text link and have discovered that the article is not full text in any of the online indexes/databases to which the BU Library subscribes, you will see this screen below.

no holdings found

It is, however, still quite easy to get this article if you need it.  You simply request a copy from another library:

  1. Click on University Patrons
  2. Login to ILLiad (Bethel's interlibrary loan program)  (The first time you login to ILLiad you will need to set up your account)
  3. The interlibrary loan form should be filled out for you
  4. Click on Submit
  5. You will receive an email when the article is available for electronic pick-up (Usually 3-5 working days)

 

Library Search

Search articles, books, DVDs and more

Can't find the item you were looking for?

  • Search CLICnet for items at Bethel or partner libraries
  • Try WorldCat for a search of nearly all libraries

Online Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

One-stop source for theories and theoretical concepts and overview of the entire field of communication theory.


Find company listings for ad agencies, newspapers, magazines, etc.


General Reference Sources:

Other Databases to Try

Finding an article from a citation.

Find where to get articles from a particular Journal or Magazine
(e.g. Quarterly Review of Speech):

The result will give you links to click through to search for the articles.

Search Tips

You've got your research question; now it's time for effective searching. Try these tips:

  • Brainstorm a variety of keywords (poverty, low-income, income level, social class)
  • To Narrow search: Connect keywords with and (poverty and education and achievement)
  • Use quotes to search for a phrase ("social inequality")
  • To Broaden search: Use or to search synonyms (poverty or low-income and education)
  • Search by keywords, not sentences (poverty and "secondary education" and achievement instead of effect of poverty on high school students)
  • Use * to get different endings of a root word (school* searches for school, schools, schooling)
  • Look for subject terms or descriptors; use these terms to find more articles on your topic

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches many disciplines and sources, from peer-reviewed papers to theses, books, abstracts, and articles. Full-text @ My Library will link to the article when available from the Bethel University Library.

Media Law

Subject Guide

Serena Giese

Library Accounts

Research Tips