HIS310 Near Eastern and Greek Civilizations Research Guide

Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more. Includes a helpful time line.

A compilation of essays that shows how Classical civilizations have shaped human endeavors from art to government, mathematics to medicine, drama to urban planning, legal theory to popular culture.

Covers the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work. Includes principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms - from amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis.

Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

Provides facts and information about the cultural, religious, and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history.

Includes such topics as customs and practices, authors and works, concepts and institutions, etc.

A useful companion to classical history that reveals the ancient world through the numerous sites of its history and legends.

This established reference work has been thoroughly updated for this edition to reflect modern scholarship. Written by distinguished scholars from around the world, it covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. 4th ed.

Provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Offers articles on diverse fields such as: history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine.

Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this dictionary presents more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. It covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.

Catalogs the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world.

What do we know of the real Nebuchadnezzar? Was there an historical precedent for the mythical Gilgamesh? Who were the Hittites? When did Isaiah preach? How did Jezebel get her reputation?
These and many more questions are answered in this fascinating survey of the people who inhabited the Near East between the twenty-fifth and the second centuries BC. From Palestine to Iran and from Alexander the Great to Zechariah, this title presents a unique and comprehensive reference guide for all those with an interest in the ancient history of the area. A comprehensive glossary, chronological charts, maps and bibliographical information complement the biographical entries. (Summary from Amazon.com)

Focusing exclusively on real people, this is a dictionary of ancient biography, covering Greek and Roman history and politics, literature, philosophy, science, and art. Shorter entries provide factual accounts, while the longer entries are short essays covering major historical and cultural themes in antiquity, centered around individuals as varied as Herodotus, Socrates, Plato, Alexander the Great, and Augustus.