RefWorks (Citation Manager)

• Everything relevant to your research project is kept in one place
• Notes are accessible online any time, any place
• Notes are searchable
• You can print your notes any time as part of a bibliography

First create a custom field for Personal Notes

There are two ways to add a custom field:

• Through the Settings page
  • Click on your name in the upper right corner
  • Click on Settings
  • Scroll down to the Custom Fields section
  • Click on Add a new custom field
  • Enter the phrase Personal Notes in the box and click on Save
     
• Through the Reference Editor
  • Open a reference you to which you would like to add a personal note by clicking on the Edit the selected document icon (Pencil)
  • Scroll down and click on Add more fields...
  • Enter the phrase Personal Notes in the box
  • Click on Add "Personal Notes" as a custom field...
  • A pop up will appear indicating that this custom field has indeed been created

Then add content to a Personal Notes field

• Click on My Folders
• Locate the reference to which you would like to add personal notes
• Click on the box in front of the reference
• When the record for the reference appears in the right column, click on the Edit the selected document icon (Pencil) in the upper right corner
• Click on the Personal Notes field
• Enter your personal notes in the field
• Click on Save

In order to do so, you will need to create a new output style by modifying a citation style (e.g., APA 7th ed.) to display your notes. 
Once you have created this new output style, it will display as one of your choices when you click on the Create Bibliography icon to create a new reference list/bibliography.

Create a New Output Style:

• Click on the Create Bibliography icon
• Click on Citation Style Editor
• Place a search for or look through the list of current citation styles to find a style you would like to modify. 
  For example:  APA 7th - American Psychological Association, 7th Edition
• Click on the selected citation style
• Click on the Options drop-down menu in the upper right corner
• Click on Duplicate
• When the Duplicate Style window opens, modify the title of the citation style to reflect that its output will contain your personal notes.
  For example:  APA 7th - American Psychological Association, 7th Edition -- With Personal Notes
• Click on Create Duplicate
• When the Bibliography Settings window opens, locate the section that shows the parts of a reference in separate boxes
• Click on the Plus Sign icon to the right of the boxes
• When the Search fields or type to add text window open, type Personal Notes in the box
• Once the Personal Notes field is included with the other parts of a reference, you can click and drag it to another position if you don't want it at the end of your reference
• Click on Save

Create a Bibliography Including Personal Notes:

• Display the collection of references you would like to use to create your bibliography/reference list
  • Click on My Folders
  • Click on the title of folder
• Click on the Create Bibliography icon (Quotation marks)
• Click on Create Bibliography
• When the reference list window opens, click on the drop-down menu to view possible options
• Click on the citation style that includes your personal notes
  • You will have to place a search for your new citation style the first time you use it.  In the future it will appear in the drop-down menu.
• Click on Copy to Clipboard
• Paste the bibliography/reference list at the end of your paper
• Save your document
• Make appropriate edits and save your document again